Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News

Chattanooga Campus Administration

Erlanger -- Our Primary Clinical Training Site

Chattanooga GME Organizational Chart

  • In January 2022, the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and its Institutional Review Committee (IRC) again awarded Continued Accreditation for our institution (The University of Tennessee College of Medicine - Chattanooga) based on the review of all our ACGME WebAds annual updates. We were also commended for meeting all institutional accreditation standards without any citations.

  • The University of Tennessee College of Medicine - Chattanooga is part of a statewide system of Graduate Medical Education with campuses in Memphis, Nashville, Knoxville, and Chattanooga.

  • The Primary Clinical Training Site for the Medical Education Programs at the Chattanooga Campus is Erlanger Health System.
  • The Chief Executive Officer of the UT College of Medicine - Chattanooga is James W. Haynes, MD, MBA, FAAFP, Professor and Dean.  Dr. Haynes is also the current Chair of the Department of Family Medicine. The Executive Assistant to the Deans is Liz Jones (423.778.6956).

  • The Designated Institutional Official (DIO) for our campus, recognized by the ACGME for accreditation as a Sponsoring Institution for Graduate Medical Education, is Robert C. Fore, EdD, FACEHP, CHCP, who also serves as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs across the continuum of medical education (undergraduate medical education for students, graduate medical education for residents and fellows, and continuing medical education for practicing physicians (423.778.6956).

  • Other Dean positions include:
  • The Office of Finance & Administration (423.778.7840) is led by Jane Clay, Director, and supported by Becky Swanson, Financial Specialist, and Jacqueline Hogan, CAP, GME Financial Specialist.
  • A core Faculty of approximately 140 paid physicians is joined by more than 300 physicians who volunteer their support and represent the major medical and surgical specialties and subspecialties.  The Chattanooga Campus is also supported by approximately 40 administrative staff.

  • The Chairs of the UT College of Medicine - Chattanooga Departments report directly to our Dean and not to the chairs of corresponding departments at the main medical school campus in Memphis.

  • The Office of Research (423.778.3818) also includes the Chair of the Institutional Review Board (IRB), Manoo Bhakta, MD, and the IRB Administrator, Stacey Hendricks, CIM.

  • Well-Being and Medical Student Education (423.834.5222) fall under the leadership of Mukta Panda, MD, Assistant Dean.  

  • The Office of Graduate and Medical Student Education administers medical student rotations as well as the residency and fellowship programs for the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga:
    • Medical Student Services Specialist (Position being recruited), 423.778.7442 (our main GME/UME line)
    • Jacqueline HoganCAP:  GME Financial Specialist, 423.778.3899
    • GME Lead Coordinator (Position being recruited), 423.778.3894
    • Pamela D. ScottC-TAGME:  Director, Graduate & Medical Student Education, 423.778.7673

  • Our Graduate Medical Education Programs, in accordance with ACGME Institutional Requirements, are overseen by a Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC) that meets 10 times per year (typically the 3rd Tuesday of each month with the exception of December and June).

  • Most importantly, also integral to the success of our GME Programs are the teams of Program Directors and Coordinators.
Sep 23, 2022