Skip to content

GME Professionals Day

Inaugural GME Professionals Day (August 20, 2021)

     UTCOMC Logo               ACGME Logo

The University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga is joining Sponsoring Institutions and hospitals across the country today in participating in the Inaugural Graduate Medical Education (GME) Professionals Day, Friday, August 20, 2021.  This day will be held each year on the 3rd Friday in August.  The concept was begun by the Association for Hospital Medical Education (AHME) and has been embraced by numerous institutions throughout the country – including the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and Training Administrators in Graduate Medical Education (TAGME).  Yesterday, ACGME tweeted (@acgme):  “Tomorrow is #GMEProfessionalsDay recognizing and celebrating the work of professionals at all levels of graduate medical education.  It takes a lot of hardworking people to drive and improve #GME, and this day is for you!”  Check out the AHME webpage announcing this initiative.

GME Professionals Day is a day of recognition for the Program Coordinators and Administrators, including those in GME Offices.  These individuals play a pivotal role in ensuring the effective operation of our residency and fellowship training programs.  The ACGME Common Program Requirements state that: 

"The Program Coordinator is a member of the leadership team and is critical to the success of the program."

Our institution and all our ACGME-accredited programs have been awarded Continuing Accreditation – most with commendations for meeting all Institutional, Common, and Specialty Requirements.  Four members of our GME Team have also achieved TAGME Certification and Recognition (C-TAGME). 

We encourage our Leadership, Program Directors, Associate Program Directors, Faculty, Residents, and Fellows to take a moment to let the Coordinators and GME Staff know how important they are to the success of your programs and the valuable role that they play behind the scenes in ensuring the success of our GME programs and initiatives:

Program

Coordinator’s Name

Email Address

Emergency Medicine Residency
Emergency Medical Services Fellowship
Ultrasound Fellowship

Velvet Green

velvet.green@erlanger.org

Family Medicine Residency

Robbin Williams, C-TAGME              

robbin.williams@erlanger.org

Internal Medicine Residency

Deborah Fuller

deborah.fuller@erlanger.org

Minimally Invasive Gynecology Surgery
Fellowship

Jessica Howell, RN

jessica.howell@erlanger.org

Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency

Paula Barnett

paula.barnett@erlanger.org

Orthopaedic Surgery Residency
Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery Fellowship

Donna Gibson, CAP

donna.gibson@erlanger.org

Pediatrics Residency

Ashley Thurston, CAP

ashley.thurston@erlanger.org

Plastic Surgery Residency

Marsha Williams

williamsm@refinedlooks.org

Surgery Residency
Vascular Surgery Fellowship

Cindy Rudolph, MS

cindy.rudolph@universitysurgical.com

Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship
Surgical Critical Care Fellowship

Maggie Hamblen, CAP

maggie.hamblen@universitysurgical.com

Urology Residency
Laparoscopic and Robotic Surgery Fellowship

Stacey Blanks, C-TAGME

stacey.blanks@erlanger.org

 

GME Administrative Staff

 

 

Title

Name

Email Address

GME Financial Specialist

Jacqueline Hogan, CAP

jacqueline.hogan@erlanger.org

GME Lead Coordinator
(Also currently overseeing the Cardiovascular Disease and Gastroenterology Fellowships

Kimberly Judd, MSEd, C-TAGME

kimberly.judd@erlanger.org

Dr. Robert Fore, Associate Dean and Designated Institutional Official, and Pamela Scott, C-TAGME, Director of Graduate and Medical Student Education, recognize these leaders for their contributions every day.  We thank each one of these extraordinary members of our GME Community.

We will be honoring them at a GME Professionals Luncheon and Retreat on Monday, August 23, 2021.

Last Published: Aug 20, 2021