Skip to content

Department of Pharmacology, Addiction Science, and Toxicology Faculty

Primary Faculty

Alex Dopico

Alex M. Dopico
Faculty Profile
Van Vleet Chair of Excellence and Professor
Brain and cerebrovascular ion channels, lipids and neurotoxicants, including alcohol
adopico@uthsc.edu
901.448.3822

Suleiman Bahouth

Suleiman W. Bahouth, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor 
GPCR signaling and trafficking, AKAPs and synapse-associated proteins
sbahouth@uthsc.edu
901.448.6009

 

Anna Bukiya

Anna Bukiya, PhD
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
Pregnancy and alcohol, cannabis, fish oil, cholesterol, ion channels and brain blood supply
abukiya@uthsc.edu
901.448.2128

 

Hao Chen

Hao Chen, PhD
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
Genetics and genomics on nicotine and opioid abuse using rat models
hchen@uthsc.edu
901.448.3720

 

George A. Cook

George A. Cook, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor
Pharmacology Education
gcook@uthsc.edu
Phone: 901.448.6008

 

 Marshall Elam

Marshall Elam, III, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor
Clinician Educator/Myalgia induced by agents that combat hypercholesterolemia
melam@uthsc.edu
901.448.6011

 

Changhoon Jee 

Changhoon Jee, PhD
Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor 
Genetic and signaling bases of compulsive alcohol/drug-seeking behaviors in C. elegans
cjee1@uthsc.edu
901.448.6050

 

Francesca-Fang Liao

Francesca-Fang Liao, PhD
Faculty Profile
Vice Chair and Professor
Neuronal, cerebrovascular and inflammatory signaling in AD and other dementias
fliao@uthsc.edu
901.448.2752

 

Kafait Malik

Kafait U. Malik, DSc, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor
Neurohormonal mechanisms of gender differences in hypertension, inflammation and associated pathogenesis
kmalik@uthsc.edu
901.448.6075

 

Edwards A. Park, PhD

Edwards A. Park, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor
Regulation of brown adipose tissue metabolism by phospholipases and lipids
epark@uthsc.edu
901.448.4779 

 

Jeffery Steketee

Jeffery D. Steketee, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor
Neurochemistry of substance abuse, with a focus on cocaine, using rodent models
jsteketee@uthsc.edu
901.448.4585 

 

Wenlin Sun

Wenlin Sun, MD, PhD
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
In vivo electrophysiological and behavioral studies of cocaine and alcohol use disorders
wsun5@uthsc.edu
901.448.1354

Trevor Sweatman

Trevor W. Sweatman, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor
Pharmacology Education
tsweatman@uthsc.edu
 901.448.4591

 

Steve Tavalin, PhD

Steven J. Tavalin, PhD
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
Regulation of glutamatergic receptors and neuronal excitability by localized signaling complexes
stavalin@uthsc.edu
901.448.3007

 

Brendan Tunstall

Brendan Tunstall, PhD
Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
Neurobiology of alcohol and opioid dependence
btunstall@uthsc.edu
901.448.3519

Thiru Vaithianathan

Thirumalini Vaithianathan, PhD
Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
Synaptic vesicle dynamics and local calcium signaling in retinal ribbon synapses during development, normal adulthood, and disease
tvaithia@uthsc.edu
901.448.2786

Fu-Ming Zhou

Fu-Ming Zhou, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor
Electrophysiological, anatomical and behavioral studies of basal ganglia-cortical circuits in Parkinson's disease
fzhou3@uthsc.edu
901.448.1779

 

 

Research Faculty

Rajendra Raghow

Rajendra Raghow, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor
Regulation of lipid metabolism by SREBP-1c. Systems biology of statin-induced muscle disease
rraghow@uthsc.edu
901.523.5990 ext. 7634

 

Kazuka Sakata

Kazuko Sakata, PhD
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
Rodent models to study brain-derived neurotrophic factor in psychiatric conditions

ksakata@uthsc.edu
901.448.2662

 

Chi Young Song

Chi Young Song
Faculty Profile
Instructor
Neurological role of metabolites of sex steroids in hypertension
csong1@uthsc.edu
901.448.6010

 

no image available

Tengfei Wang, MD
Faculty Profile
Instructor
Addiction genetics using rat models
twang18@uthsc.edu
901.448.3201

Secondary Faculty

Joint


Karen Derefinko

Karen J. Derefinko, PhD
Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
College of Medicine
Department of Preventive Medicine

 

no image available

William E. Evans
Professor
College of Pharmacy
Department of Clinical Pharmacy

 

no image available

Byron Jones
Faculty Profile
Professor
College of Medicine
Department of Genetics, Genomics, and Informatics

 

Santosh Kumar

Santosh Kumar, PhD
Faculty Profile
Professor
College of Pharmacy
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

 

no image available

Burt Sharp
Faculty Profile
Distinguished Professor
College of Medicine
Department of Genetics, Genomics and Informatics

 

Volunteer


UTHSC no image available

Karin Thompson, PhD
Adjunct Professor

 

Emeritus Faculty

UTHSC no image available

Murray Heimberg, MD, PhD
Distinguished Professor and Emeritus

 

UTHSC no image available

Ira Weinstein
Professor Emeritus

 

Last Published: Mar 23, 2021