Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News

Endocrinology Division News

In Memory of Dr. Beverly Jean Williams-Cleaves
August 16, 1943 – May 9, 2020

Dr. Beverly Jean Williams-Cleaves passed away Saturday, May 9, 2020 at Methodist Germantown Hospital, after suffering from pancreatic cancer. Born on August 16, 1943, Beverly was the youngest of three daughters born in Mason, TN to John Ed and Odessa Williams. The valedictorian of her Manassas High School Class of 1961, Dr. Williams-Cleaves attended Howard University and received her medical degree in 1969 from the University of Tennessee Memphis. She focused on internal medicine as she continued her residency at the prestigious Beth Israel Hospital in Boston, and practiced for several years in San Francisco. Eventually returning home to Memphis, Dr. Williams-Cleaves facilitated scores of community health fairs and organized many educational outreach programs. For many years she served as an associate professor in the endocrinology division at UT Health Sciences Center (UTHSC) and lead the endocrine outpatient clinics at the MedPlex Clinic. Dr. Williams-Cleaves was dedicated to serving her community, and her numerous civic and social involvements included Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., The Society for the Arts Inc., Bluff City Medical Society, Leadership Memphis, Healthy Memphis Common Table, board member of LeMoyne-Owen College, and the American Diabetes Association. A lifelong member of Friendship Baptist Church, she lead the establishment of the church's monthly "Feed the Less Fortunate" events. She and her sisters established college scholarships at Friendship Baptist Church and Manassas High School, as well as a fellowship at UT.

Samuel Dagogo-Jack, MD Named University of Tennessee Discover Honoree

Discover honoree

Dr. Samuel Dagogo-Jack, a UT Health Science Center professor of medicine and chief of the division of endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism, has made outstanding contributions that have added to the understanding of and interventions for diabetes and prediabetes. Read More

2nd Annual Abbas E. Kitabchi Distinguished Visiting Professorship

2nd kitbachi
Pictured: Dr. Samuel Dagogo-Jack, Dr. Aaron Vinik (DVP) and Dr. Solomon S. Solomon.

The division was proud to host the 2nd Annual Abbas E. Kitabchi Distinguished Visiting Professorship in honor of Dr. Kitabchi who was essential in establishing the Division of Endocrinology here at UTHSC for over 40 years. He was a true pioneer and legend in the field of Endocrinology, Diabetes, & Metabolism. The invited guest lecturer was Dr. Aaron I. Vinik, MD, PhD, FCP, MACP, FACE Murray Waitzer Endowed Chair for Diabetes Research, Professor of Medicine/Pathology/Neurobiology and Director of Research & Neuroendocrine Unit at Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, VA.

18th Annual James. R. Givens Distinguished Visiting Professorship

Dr. Alvin Powers (Given’s DVP recipient), Mrs. Mary King Given, (widowed of  Dr. James R. Givens),  Dr. Samuel Dagogo-Jack, (Division Chief, Med-Endocrinology)
Pictured: Dr. Alvin Powers (Given’s DVP recipient), Mrs. Mary King Given, (widowed of  Dr. James R. Givens),  Dr. Samuel Dagogo-Jack, (Division Chief, Med-Endocrinology).

Alvin C. Powers, M.D., was the recipient of the 18th Annual James R. Givens Distinguished Visiting Professorship.  Dr. Powers holds the Joe C. Davis Chair in Biologic Science and Professor of Medicine, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics at Vanderbilt University. He is the Chief of the Vanderbilt Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolism. He is also the Director of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Center, and the Director of the NIH-funded Vanderbilt Diabetes Research and Training Center.

2nd Annual John Ed and Odessa Williams Endowment in Community Diabetes Visiting Professorship

Pictured:   L to R: Dr. Murray Heimberg, Dr. Ayotunde Dokun, Dr. Frankie Stentz, Dr. James Gavin,  Dr. Samuel Dagogo-Jack, Dr. Beverly Williams-Cleaves and Dr. Ivan Gerling
Pictured from left: Dr. Murray Heimberg, Dr. Ayotunde Dokun, Dr. Frankie Stentz, Dr. James Gavin,  Dr. Samuel Dagogo-Jack, Dr. Beverly Williams-Cleaves and Dr. Ivan Gerling.

Dr. James R. Gavin, III, was the recipient of the 2nd Annual John Ed and Odessa Williams Distinguished Visiting Professorship in honor of the Late John Ed and Odessa Williams, parents of UTHSC alumni  Dr. Beverly Williams-Cleaves (Med-Endocrinology) and  Ethelyn Williams- Neal (UTHSC Training Program Graduate).

Dr. Gavin is a Professor of Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia, & Clinical Professor of Medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, IN. He is also the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Medical Officer of Healing Our Village, Inc. He also serves as President and CEO for Microlslet, Inc. of San Diego, CA.

Dr. Gavin was the inaugural speaker for the Williams’ Lectureship.

May 26, 2022