Skip to content

Black Student Association

The Black Student Association (BSA) is an interdisciplinary organization founded in 1992 by African American students at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. 

The BSA is open to all students at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center regardless of ethnic background, discipline, or other affiliations. The Black Student Association also offers a number of opportunities to participate in community service. Our most recent collaborations include tutoring with Pyramid Academy and Grizzly High School. Throughout the year, we coordinate many health fairs and mentoring events within the community.


Annual Awards and Recognition Banquet

bsa banquet

The Black Student Association Banquet is held in the month of February each at the Student Alumni Center. It is a celebration of BSA members' accomplishments throughout the school year.

Tickets for the banquet can be bought during the months of January and February. Please contact Dustin Fulton for details or visit the News and Events page for more information about the next banquet.


Meeting Dates

The BSA meets on the last Wednesday of each month in GEB at 12:00 pm. The specific room number will be communicated via the BSA listserv.

Spring Meeting Dates:

January 30

February 27

March 27

April 17


Officers and Advisors

2018-2019 Officers

Karen Merriweather, Dentistry

Vice President
Gregory Brown, Dental Hygiene

Se'Toria Valentine, Dental Hygiene

Ontario Ward, Dentistry

DJ Barrow, Pharmacy

Social Chair
Curtis McKoy, Pharmacy

Service Chair
Elizabeth Sueing, Physical Therapy

College Representatives

Dentistry: Kayla Jones

Graduate Health Sciences: Vacant

Health Professions: Elizabeth Sueing

Medicine: Sarah Asemota

Nursing: Rashedah Young

Pharmacy: DJ Barrow


Dustin Fulton, MS
Associate Director of Student Affairs

Pamela Houston, MS
Director of Special Events and Commmunity Affairs

Last Published: Dec 17, 2018