About the Office of Student Affairs

The Office of Student Affairs is concerned with the overall growth, development, and graduation of medical students. Thus, the goal of our office is to serve students through a wide range of nonacademic activities and programs, including career counseling, residency placement, graduation activities, and much, much more.

Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Admissions

Susan C. Brewer, M.D.

Susan C Brewer, MD
Email: sbrewer@uthsc.edu

Dr. Brewer is a Tennessee native and received a B.A. from UTK and a M.T. from St Jude Children’s Research Hospital in clinical microbiology.  She received her MD from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine and completed her residency and fellowship in Infectious Disease at UT.  She was appointed the vice-chair for Student Programs in the Department of Medicine in 1998.  She was appointed  Assistant Dean for the Clinical Curriculum in 2007 and served in that position for more than seven years before assuming the position of Dean of Students.  She practices as an infectious disease consultant with a special interest in HIV/AIDS.

Assistant Dean, Student Affairs

Catherine Womack, MD

Catherine Womack, MD
Email: cwomack@uthsc.edu

Dr Catherine Womack is an Internist who has been working at the University of Tennessee's Health Science Center for the last 15 years. She has been involved in teaching students and residents the practice of Internal Medicine in the inpatient and outpatient setting during her tenure here. In her role as the Co-Chief of the General Internal Medicine division, she has worked with her partners to create a thriving private practice which allows multiple opportunities for learning for Medicine residents, Med-Peds residents and medical students. She is also involved in Graduate Medical Education as an Associate Program Director for the Internal Medicine training program at UTHSC as well as the Site Director for the Medicine Training Program at Baptist Memorial Hospital Memphis. She works in the Department of Preventive Medicine on several NIH funded clinical trials and understands the complexity of balancing teaching/research and clinical care.

Assistant Dean, Student Affairs

george maishGeorge O. Maish, MD
Email: gmaish@uthsc.edu 
Telephone: 448.8370








Counselor Minority Student Affairs

Gerald Presbury, MD

Gerald Presbury, MD
Email: gpresbury@uthsc.edu

Assistant Dean, Admissions

Nelson Strother

Nelson Strother
Email: nstrother@uthsc.edu

Born in Tulsa, Oklahoma, Mr. Strother grew up in Virginia. He attended East Carolina University earning a BA with a double major in philosophy and psychology. After completing an MA in philosophy at Memphis State University in 1978, Mr. Strother began working with TRIO programs at the Girls Club of Memphis and subsequently became Coordinator of Admissions at Methodist Hospital School of Nursing.

Mr. Strother came to UT in 1985 and has worked in both the College of Medicine Admissions Office and the University Admissions Office.

Director of Career Counseling

staff photo
Courtney Cook, MA
Email: ccook51@uthsc.edu

Courtney Cook earned her Master of Arts degree in Higher Education (2007) and Bachelor of Psychology degree (2005) from the University of Mississippi. With over 10 years of experience working in Higher Education, Courtney serves as the Director of Career Counseling with the responsibility of providing career counseling to all students, coordinating events and workshops, and assisting the Office of Student Affairs with various initiatives and programs. Courtney joined the College of Medicine in August 2016 and enjoys meeting with students and connecting and working with faculty and staff.

Program Coordinator

Deborah D. Hester
Email: dhester@uthsc.edu

Sr. Administrative Services Assistant

Taylor R. Smith, MA
Email: tsmit198@uthsc.edu

The best place to keep up with
student activities is on Facebook.
Stop by and give us a  Facebook like icon

Olsen logo

Contact Us

Office of Student Affairs

910 Madison Ave, #1031
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5684
Fax: (901) 448-7085 

Associate Dean:
Susan C. Brewer, MD

Scott E. Strome, MD
Robert Kaplan Executive Dean,
Vice Chancellor for Clinical Affairs
910 Madison Ave, Ste 1002
Memphis, TN 38163