Department of Surgery

"The Leaders of Today Educate the Future Leaders of Tomorrow"

Department of Surgery Faculty

University of Tennessee Health Science Center's Department of Surgery is committed to excellence in patient care and is recognized for the rigorous classroom and intensive clinical training provided to our medical students and residents.

The six core competencies (patient care, medical knowledge, practice-based learning and improvement, systems-based practice, interpersonal and communication skills, and professionalism) help us achieve clinical excellence by defining what we do.

At UTHSC, our finishing residents surpass in all the core competencies. The Department of Surgery recruits categorical residents for a five-year program and preliminary residents for a one-year program. The Department is composed of seven divisions: General Surgery including the Divisions of Surgical Oncology, Colon and Rectal Surgery, and Minimally Invasive Surgery, Pediatric Surgery, Transplant Surgery, Trauma / Surgical Critical Care, and Vascular Surgery.

Currently, the Department of Surgery has approximately 40 faculty members and 50 residents participating in research, education, and clinical services at our affiliated hospitals including Baptist Memorial Hospital, Regional Medical Center, Methodist University Hospital, St. Francis Hospital, Le Bonheur Children's Medical Center, and the Veteran's Administration Medical Center.