First Tennessee Chair of Excellence

Current Chair: P. David Rogers, Pharm.D., PhD

P. David Rogers, Pharm.D., PhD

P. David Rogers, Pharm.D., PhD, a leading researcher in clinical pharmacy and medical mycology, was named First Tennessee Chair in 2006. Dr. Rogers is Associate Dean for Translational Research for the College of Pharmacy, and Professor and Vice Chair for Research for the Department of Clinical Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy. He holds joint appointments in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences in the College of Pharmacy, as well as the Departments of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry and Pediatrics in the College of Medicine. He is a member of the Graduate Faculty of the College of Graduate Health Sciences and is a member of the Children’s Foundation Research Center of Memphis at Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital.

Rogers completed his undergraduate work at the University of Memphis, received the Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Tennessee, and the Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees in Microbiology from the University of Mississippi. He completed an ASHP-accredited Residency in Pharmacy Practice at the Regional Medical Center at Memphis, as well as an ASHP-accredited Residency in Infectious Diseases Pharmacy Practice and Fellowship in Infectious Diseases Pharmacotherapy at the University of Mississippi Medical Center.

Dr. Rogers is an elected Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, and member of the American Society for Microbiology, the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists, the Infectious Diseases Society of America, Rho Chi Academic Honor Society, and is a past president of the Mississippi College of Clinical Pharmacy. He serves as a reviewer for multiple peer reviewed journals and funding agencies and is a member of several editorial boards. He is the recipient of the 2002 Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists Young Investigator Award, the 2004 Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists Impact Paper in Infectious Diseases Pharmacotherapy Award, and the 2004 American College of Clinical Pharmacy Young Investigator Award. Dr. Rogers’ research is supported through grants from associations, industry, and the National Institutes of Health. He has authored over 60 publications, and over 100 scientific abstracts to date.

The objective of Dr. Rogers’ research program is to identify ways to improve currently available antifungal drugs as well as to identify novel approaches for treating invasive fungal infections. His current work focuses on the elucidation of the molecular basis of antifungal resistance and tolerance in the pathogenic fungi Candida albicans and Candida glabrata.

Contact Us

Wei Li, PhD
Professor and Faculty Director of Instrument Facility
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
881 Madison Avenue, room 561
Memphis, TN 38163
(901) 448-7532 (office)

Dejian Ma, PhD
Senior Research Specialist
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
881 Madison Avenue, room B024A
Memphis TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-7376