Annual Department of Medicine and AΩA Beta Tennessee Chapter Research Day 2017 Winners

Winners of 2017 Research Day pose for a photo.

The Department of Medicine and the Alpha Omega Alpha Beta Tennessee Chapter presented the annual Research in Medicine and Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Student Research Day on Friday, February 24. The event was from 3-6 p.m. in the Madison Plaza with presentations in the Hamilton Eye Institute Freeman Auditorium.

Abstracts were submitted by students in the College of Medicine as well as faculty, fellows, post-doctoral fellows and residents in the Department of Medicine. Over 60 abstracts were received for this year’s event. All abstracts were judged prior to the day of presentation and awards were given for the top two abstracts in each trainee category. The first author of the top abstract in each category was invited to give an oral presentation during the program. All abstracts were presented during the poster session from 4:30-6:00 PM.

Darryl Quarles, MD, professor and director of Nephrology, and associate dean for Research in the UTHSC College of Medicine, delivered the keynote address. The first place abstracts were presented in 10 minute oral format.

The winners in each category were:


First Place: William Evans

Second Place: Shane Hagen


First Place: Manyoo Agarwal, MD
Second Place (tie): Upama Giri, MD, and Kruti Patel, DO

Recipients of the 2016 Gold Humanism Award

medpeds residents 2016 Gold Humanism Award winners

Congratulations to Dr. Patrick Higgins, 4th year medical student and pre-Chief for the Division of General Internal Medicine and Dr. Michele McAmis, 2nd year resident, recipients of the 2016 Gold Humanism Award.

Drs. Dipen Kadaria and Muthiah Muthiah receive Teaching Awards

Dr. Dipen Kadaria receiving the 2015 recipient of the James L. Lewis Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr. Dipen Kadaria (R), Assistant Professor, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, was the recipient of the 2015 recipient of the James L. Lewis Excellence in Teaching Award. Dr. Muthiah Muthiah, Professor of Medicine, Pulmonary and Critical Care, was awarded the 2015 Golden Apple Teaching Award.


Dr. Colin W. Howden Honored by the American College of Gastroenterology

Dr. Howden in the hallway before an Internal Medicine sign.

Dr. Colin W. Howden, Professor of Medicine and Division Director of Gastroenterology, was honored by the American College of Gastroenterology for 25 years of membership and service and by the American Gastroenterology Association for five years of service as Editor of GI and Hepatology News.

New Chief Residents

The Department of Medicine Welcomes the Incoming Chief Residents:

  • Matthew Barnes - Methodist
  • Deirdre James - Regional One Health
  • Andrew Han - VA Medical Center
  • Shelly Swindler - VA Medical Center
  • Alex Woods - Baptist Memphis

Summer Research Scholars Program

Summer Research Scholars Program participants

The Summer Research Scholars Program is an eight-week program designed to help exceptionally well-qualified undergraduate students gain valuable research experience in the College of Graduate Health Sciences and the College of Pharmacy.

Director of Endocrinology and Metabolism Has Two Books Published

Dr. Dagogo-Jack sitting at a desk holding two recently published books.

The Department of Medicine is pleased to announce that Dr. Samuel Dagogo-Jack, Division Director of Endocrinology and Metabolism, has recently published Diabetes Risks from Prescription and Non-Prescription Drugs and is the Editor of Leptin – Clinical Regulation and Clinical Applications.

Contact Us

Department of Medicine
Coleman Building
Suite D334
956 Court Avenue
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5752
Fax: (901) 448-1666