Office of the Robert Kaplan Executive Dean

The College of Medicine is one of six Colleges that comprise the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC). The College's statewide programs are located on four fully integrated locations, Memphis, Knoxville, Nashville, and Chattanooga. The College maintains approximately 750 full time and approximately 200 part time faculty on these locations. UT medical students train at these four locations as well as smaller sites across the State of Tennessee. The College’s annual all source revenue exceeds $400 Million dollars and contributes substantially to the health and economic well being of the regions in which the locations are located as well as the State of Tennessee.

Each location maintains independent Graduate Medical Education (GME), clinical practice, and research programs. 84 fully accredited residency and fellowship programs with greater than 1100 residents and fellows are present at our 4 locations (Memphis – 54 programs, Knoxville – 17 programs, Chattanooga – 13 programs). Our GME programs are fully accredited by the Accrediting Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

UT medical students spend their first two years in Memphis then perform clinical rotations at the four locations. In addition, almost every city/town has locations where students perform some of their clinical training with local practitioners. The leadership and faculty, dedicated to the four missions of the College, education, research, clinical care, and service, have created an environment that provides our students and trainees with the education and experiences that will make them skilled and compassionate physicians. The College is fully accredited by Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME).

Our history has included the education and training of a significant proportion of the practicing physicians in the State of Tennessee. In addition, some of the nation's leaders in research and clinical medicine are among our 12,196 alumni.

The College research mission is primarily based on the Memphis campus with an enlarging component at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) and our Knoxville and Chattanooga locations. Areas of research strength include cardiovascular, neuroscience, infectious disease, and genomics. The Level III Regional Biocontainment Laboratory, the Center for Integrative and Translational Genomics, the Cancer Research Center, and the Tennessee Clinical and Translational Science Institute integrate multiple disciplines in research endeavors.

Today's health care practitioners face many challenges. At the UT College of Medicine, we are providing our trainees the tools with which to face these issues. Our commitment is to continue the strong tradition at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine which has prepared outstanding clinicians, investigators, and educators for the medical profession.

Please consider yourself invited to visit us.

David M. Stern, M.D.
Robert Kaplan Executive Dean

Dean photo
David M. Stern, M.D.

Olsen logo



Contact Us

Office of Medical Education

910 Madison Avenue, Ste 1031
Memphis, Tennessee 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5506
Fax: (901) 448-1488

Interim Associate Dean, Medical Education:
Michael Whitt, PhD

Executive Dean:
Steve J. Schwab, MD