Pediatric Nephrology

Division Members

Dr. Robert J. Wyatt, Professor of Pediatrics and Preventive Medicine has been Chief of the Division of Pediatric Nephrology since 1999. He is also the Pediatric Nephrology Fellowship Program Director, Medical Director of the Kidney Transplant program at the Le Bonheur Children's Hospital and Medical Director for Pediatric Nephrology at the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. Dr. Wyatt will be stepping down as Division Chief and a national search for his successor is in progress.

Dr. Bettina Ault, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, is the Associate Pediatric Nephrology Fellowship Program Director. Dr. Noel Delos Santos, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, is director of the Pediatric Hypertension Program. Dr. Colleen Hastings, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine, is the Director of Dialysis Services at the Le Bonheur Children's Hospital. Dr. Russell W. Chesney, former Chair of the Department of Pediatrics and past Editor of Pediatric Nephrology actively participates in the division’s clinical and research conferences.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Division of Pediatric Nephrology is to maintain excellence in the areas of patient care, education and research related to childhood kidney diseases. The division is a regional resource for evaluation of children with kidney disease and hypertension and has active pediatric dialysis and kidney transplantation programs. Members of the division are involved in the education of medical students, pediatric residents and medicine-pediatric residents. The division maintains an accredited pediatric nephrology fellowship-training program. Members of the division regularly participate in public and professional education through involvement with the National Kidney Foundation of West Tennessee. The division has active clinical and laboratory research programs. The division’s philosophy is that in order for progress to be made in the clinical and pathogenetic understanding of childhood kidney disease, clinical trials for glomerular disorders, hypertension, dialysis and transplantation should be available for our patients.

Contact Information

Fellowship Training Program Director
John J. Bissler, MD
FedEx Chair of Excellence
Professor and Chief, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension Department of Pediatrics
Director of Tuberous Sclerosis Center of Excellence
Medical Director of Nephrology, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital University of Tennessee Health Science Center
UT Le Bonheur Pediatric Specialists, LCH
Children’s Foundation Research Institute
49 North Dunlap, C-312
Memphis, TN 38105

Fellowship Training Program Assistant Director
Arwa Nada, MD
Assistant professor of Pediatric Nephrology
Division of Pediatric Nephrology
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital
49 North Dunlap, FOB 326. Memphis, TN 38105

Fellowship Training Program Coordinator
Rhonda Gray
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
50 N. Dunlap 654R
Memphis, TN 38103
Phone: (901) 287-6034
Fax: (901) 287-5062