Student Organizations and Specialty Interest Groups


When groups of students wish to have a continuous association, intended to last beyond the term of those immediately involved, it is proper that they be required to qualify for and be recognized by the University. All recognized associations should be accorded the same privileges and bound by the same obligations. University recognition does not mean endorsement of the purposes or activities of any association by the faculty or administration. It means only that the association is accepted as meeting the minimum requirements set for all student associations.

Any student group seeking official registration by the University in order to utilize University facilities must
complete and return the following required documents to the Office of Student Life, 800 Madison Avenue, Suite 300, Memphis, TN 38163 or simply by dropping by the office:

  1. Student organization registration request and update form
  2. Responsibilities of faculty advisors to student organizations
  3. A copy of your group's constitution and by-laws

Consult the CenterScope Student Handbook for instructions on how to prepare a constitution or by-laws, or contact the Office of Student Life for assistance. A complete description of the process for the registration of student organizations may be found in the Registration and Conduct of Student Organizations section in the CenterScope Student Handbook.

College of Medicine Officer Position Email Advisor
Aid for the Impaired Medical Student (AIMS)       Dr. Lawrence Madlock
American Medical Association Medical Student Section  Raj Budati Chapter President pbudati@uthsc.edu  
Mike Bright Vice President mbright8@uthsc.edu  
American Medical Student Association (AMSA)   David Copeland Co-President dcopela4@uthsc.edu  
Cosby Arnold President carnol12@uthsc.edu  
Hannah Fish Vice President hfish@uthsc.edu  
Anesthesiology Interest Group   Amelia Owens Co-President aowens20@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Craft
Jason Johnson Co-President jjohn326@uthsc.edu  
Tyler Jackson Vice President tjacks18@uthsc.edu  
Best Buddies  Mallory Uekman President muekman@uthsc.edu Dr. Melissa Hoffmann
Nikhita Jain Vice President njain7@uthsc.edu  
Church Health Center Student Liaison Committee    Ryan P. Lee President rlee39@uthsc.edu Jerome W. Thompson
Council on International & Area Outreach (CIAO)  Kristie Chang Co-President kchang@uthsc.edu Dr. Susan Brewer
Missy Edwards Co-President missyedwards6@gmail.com  
Emergency Medicine Interest Group  Neha Bhatnager President nbhatnag@uthsc.edu Dr. Jim Creel
      Dr. Sadave Mendiratta
Family Medicine Interest Group Mary Jane Dickey President mdickey1@uthsc.edu Dr. Sharon Tabachnick
Health Students Teaching Memphis Youth  Hannah Fish President hfish@uthsc.edu Dr. Jeanie Dassow
Amanda Kull Vice President akull@uthsc.edu  
Healthcare Business Student Interest Group  Thomas Miller Beazley Officers tbeazle3@uthsc.edu Dr. Jerome Thompson
Scott Norman Wisniewski Officers swisnie1@uthsc.edu  
Hematology/Oncology St. Interest Group Erick Vick President evick@uthsc.edu Dr. Mike Martin
Honor Council Daniel Sharbel
Daniel Wakefield
Andrew Cibulas [VP]
Brett George
  dsharbel@uthsc.edu
dwakefi2@uthsc.edu
acibulas@uthsc.edu
bgeorge1@uthsc.edu

James B. Lewis, MD
Internal Medicine Interest Group Justin Arunthamakun Co-President jaruntha@uthsc.edu Dr. James B. Lewis
Medical Spanish Club    Danielle Kern Co-President danielle.kern1@uthsc.edu Dr. Alicia Diaz-Thomas
James Humble Co-President jhumble@uthsc.edu  
Cathya Olivas Co-President colivas@uthsc.edu  
Patty Ojeda Co-President pojeda@uthsc.edu  
Medical Student Executive Council (MSEC) Samantha Polly  President spolly1@uthsc.edu Dr. Susan Brewer
Med-Peds Interest Group Channing Garber
Kelsey Caffy
President
Vice President
kgarber@uthsc.edu
kcaffy@uthsc.edu
Dr. Natascha Thompson
Ob/Gyn Interest Group Goodwin Burgess

Co-President lburges5@uthsc.edu

Dr. Owen Phillips
Elizabeth Trimble Co-President etrimble@uthsc.edu
Lindsay Morris Vice President lmorri26@uthsc.edu
Otolaryngology Interest Group Daniel D. Sharbel Co-Chair dsharbel@uthsc.edu Dr.Jerome Thompson
Pathology Student Interest Group    Co-Leader    
Natalie Guley Co-Leader nhart3@uthsc.edu  
Pediatric Interest Group  Elizabeth Altizer President altize1@uthsc.edu Dr. Mark Bugnitz
Michael Edwards Vice President medwar41@uthsc.edu  
Phi Chi Fraternity  Hannah Lin President hlin4@uthsc.edu Dr. Susan Brewer
Kwame Nuako Vice President nuako@uthsc.edu  
Psychiatry Student Interest Group (PsychSign)  Noel Diaz Co-Chair ldiaz2@uthsc.edu Dr. Renate Rosenthal
Amanda Walker Co-Chair awalke62@uthsc.edu  
Radiology Interest Group of the UTHSC (DX) (Elections in the Fall semester)   President
Vice President
  Dr. Brian Green
Radiology Interest Group of the UTHSC (Interventional)  Jacob Hartline

President jhartli2@uthsc.edu

Dr. Wes Angel 
Christopher Choe Vice President cchoe@uthsc.edu  
Reece McKenzie Secretary rmckenz9@uthsc.edu  
Zach Sherman Treasurer zsherma1@uthsc.edu  
Street Medicine Interest Group  Nikhita Jain
Annie Ameha
Co-President
Co-President
njain7@uthsc.edu
aameha@uthsc.edu
Dr. David Hasty
Emily Thompson Vice President ethomp33@uthsc.edu  
Student Committee on Research in Ed. (SCORE)  Mercy Kibe President mkibe1@uthsc.edu Dr. Suzanne Satterfield 
Malvi Savani Vice President msavani@uthsc.edu

Student Interest Group in Dermatology  Jesalyn Tate President vvw875@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Skinner
Beth Lee Vice President elee22@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Kaplan
Student Interest Group in Neurology (SIGN) Casey McCormick President cjmccormick.bsc@gmail.com Dr. Mervat Wahba
Student Interest Group in Ophthalmology (SIGIO)  Rutvi Patel President rpatel37@uthsc.edu Dr. Bill Morris
Eric Sollenberger Vice President esollenb@uthsc.edu  
Student National Medical Association (SNMA)  Sammie Searcy President ssearcy5@uthsc.edu Dr. Gerald Presbury
Taylor Cravanas Vice President tcravan1@uthsc.edu  
Student Orthopaedic Association  Wesley Owen President wowen1@uthsc.edu Dr. Karen Hasty
Eric Villareal Vice President gvillare@uthsc.edu  
Student Surgical Society   Travis Sullivan President tsulliv8@uthsc.edu Dr. Gayle Minard
Andrew (Drew) Kropilak Vice President akropila@uthsc.edu  
Max Ofori Vice President mofori3@uthsc.edu  
Student to Student  Grant Muller President rmuller2@uthsc.edu Dr. Claudette Shephard
Matt Grisham   jgrisham@uthsc.edu  
Students for a National Health Program (SNaHP) Diana Alsbrook President dalsbro2@uthsc.edu Dr. Roger LaBonte
UT Cardiology Interest Group Dennis Narcisse
Nicolas Ludi
President
Vice President
dnarciss@uthsc.edu
nludimod@uthsc.edu

Dr. Dwight Dishmon
UT Plastic Surgery Interest Group  Collin Howser President chowser@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Wallace 
Rebecca Thompson Vice President rthomp40@uthsc.edu
UT Radiation Oncology Student Society(Elections in the Fall semester) Daniel Wakefield President dwakefi2@uthsc.edu Dr. Michael Farmer 
Tyler Verdell Vice President tverdel2@uthsc.edu
UT Student Neurosurgical Society  Garrett Venable President jdg628@uthsc.edu Dr. Frederick Boop 
Cody Nesvick Vice President  
UT Students for Preventive Medicine   President   Dr. Susan Brewer
UTHSC Chapter of Physicians for a Diana Alsbrook President dalsbro2@uthsc.edu Dr Roger LaBonte
National Health Program Max Ofori Vice President mofori3@uthsc.edu  
UTHSC College of Medicine Medical Genetics Scott Ward President sward14@uthsc.edu Dr. Jewell Ward
Interest Group Lindsay Morris Vice President lmorri26@uthsc.edu Dr. Vicki Park
UTHSC Nature Conservancy  Melissa Shenep President mshenep@uthsc.edu Dr. Michael Whitt
Jordan Perchik  Vice President  jperchik@uthsc.edu Dr. Mark Miller
Urology Interest Group  Matt Davis President matldavi@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Wake 
Andrew Tumen Vice President atumen@uthsc.edu
Wilderness, Austere and Rescue Medicine (WARM) Charlie Duke President cduke1@uthsc.edu Dr. Barbara Geater
Women In Medicine and Science (WIMS)    Sarah Allan President sallan@uthsc.edu Dr. Suzanne Satterfield   
Annie Ameha Vice President aameha@uthsc.edu
Abigail Lepsch Secretary  
Nandi Chihombori-Quao Treasurer