Student Organizations and Specialty Interest Groups


When groups of students wish to have a continuous association, intended to last beyond the term of those immediately involved, it is proper that they be required to qualify for and be recognized by the University. All recognized associations should be accorded the same privileges and bound by the same obligations. University recognition does not mean endorsement of the purposes or activities of any association by the faculty or administration. It means only that the association is accepted as meeting the minimum requirements set for all student associations.

Any student group seeking official registration by the University in order to utilize University facilities must
complete and return the following required documents to the Office of Student Life, 800 Madison Avenue, Suite 300, Memphis, TN 38163 or simply by dropping by the office:

  1. Student organization registration request and update form
  2. Responsibilities of faculty advisors to student organizations
  3. A copy of your group's constitution and by-laws

Consult the CenterScope Student Handbook for instructions on how to prepare a constitution or by-laws, or contact the Office of Student Life for assistance. A complete description of the process for the registration of student organizations may be found in the Registration and Conduct of Student Organizations section in the CenterScope Student Handbook.

College of Medicine Officer Position Email Advisor
Aid for the Impaired Medical Student (AIMS)       Dr. Lawrence Madlock
American Medical Association Medical Student Section  Raj Budati Chapter President pbudati@uthsc.edu  
Mike Bright Vice President mbright8@uthsc.edu  
American Medical Student Association (AMSA)   Anna-Carson Uhelski
Anjelica Saulsberry
Co-President
Co-President
ddc811@uthsc.edu
asaulsb1@uthsc.edu
Dr. Valerie Arnold
Anesthesiology Interest Group Amelia Updegraff, M3 [PR]
Hollie Black, M4 [VP]
Stephanie Nabors DeFord, M2 [Sec]
Will Pierce, M3 [TR]
President
VP
Secretary
Treasurer
Dr. Steven Boggs
Asian Pacific American Medical Student Association Samantha Ouyang
Madhuri Prasad
President

President
youyang1@uthsc.edu

mprasad2@uthsc.edu
D. Bindiya Bagga
Association of Women Surgeons Louisa Boyd
Sarah Asemota
Kathryn Fowler
Christine Joyce
Co-President
Co-President
Vice President
Vice President
lboyd6@uthsc.edu
vqp741@uthsc.edu
kfowle20@uthsc.edu
kjoyce@uthc.edu
Dr. Regan Williams
Best Buddies  Coleman Breland
Austin Wheeler
President
Vice President
muekman@uthsc.edu

Dr. Melissa Hoffmann
Dr. Jyotsna Ranga
Church Health Center Student Liaison Committee       Jerome W. Thompson
Clinica Esperanza Angel Morvant
Karen Wang
Jackson Hearn
Co-President
Co-President
Vice President
anglin@uthsc.edu Dr. Susan Brewer
Council on International & Area Outreach (CIAO)  Leila Appel President lappel@uthsc.edu Dr. Susan Brewer
Emergency Medicine Interest Group  Lindsay Grisham
Caleb Cantrell
President
Vice-President
lgrisham@uthsc.edu
ccantr23@uthsc.edu
Dr. Alan Taylor
Family Medicine Interest Group Sienna Nelson
Michael Lam
President
Co-President
  Dr. Sarah Tiggelaar
Health Students Teaching Memphis Youth        Dr. Jeanie Dassow
Healthcare Business Student Interest Group        Dr. Jerome Thompson
Healthcare Professionals for Africans Worldwide Hanna Akalu
George Davies
Selam Tesema
President
Vice President
Vice President
  Dr. Samuel Dagogo-Jack
Hematology/Oncology St. Interest Group Anna-Carson Rimer Uhelski
Noah Richardson
President

Vice President
  Dr. Mike Martin
Honor Council Daniel Sharbel
Daniel Wakefield
Andrew Cibulas [VP]
Brett George
  dsharbel@uthsc.edu
dwakefi2@uthsc.edu
acibulas@uthsc.edu
bgeorge1@uthsc.edu

James B. Lewis, MD
Internal Medicine Interest Group Michael Fister
Jeremy Chang
President
Vice President
mfister1@uthsc.edu
jchang19@uthsc.edu
Dr. Robert Bradsher
JANUS Max Rippe
Anh Vo
President
Vice President
  Dr. Renate Rosenthal
Dr. Robert Lands
Medical Spanish Club          Dr. Alicia Diaz-Thomas
Medical Student Executive Council (MSEC) Peter Ketch
Camden Hastings
President
Vice President
pketch@uthsc.edu
chastin4@uthsc.edu
Dr. Susan Brewer
Med-Peds Interest Group John Kee
Mary McBride
President
Vice President
  Dr. Emilee Dobish
Memphis Street Health Jami Reece
Alex Galloway
President
Vice President
jreece4@uthsc.edu

Dr. James Lewis
Ob/Gyn Interest Group Ramie Mansberg Co-President rmansber@uthsc.edu Dr. Owen Phillips
Victoria "Summer" Watson Co-President kander59@uthsc.edu
Joy Trimble Vice President etrimble@uthsc.edu
Otolaryngology Interest Group       Dr.Jerome Thompson
Pathology Student Interest Group         
Pediatric Interest Group  Jackson Hearn President jhearn4@uthsc.edu

Dr. Emilee Dobish
Danielle Noles Vice President    
Phi Chi Medical Fraternity  Michael Hook
Anna Walsh
Jackson Hearn
Ryan Hammond
President
Vice President
Vice President
Vice President


jhearn4@uthsc.edu
rhammon9@uthsc.edu
Dr. Charles Handorf
Psychiatry Student Interest Group (PsychSign) Taine Ferrari President tferrar2@uthc.edu Dr. Jyotsna Ranga
Radiology Interest Group of the UTHSC (DX) (Elections in the Fall semester) Trent Scott  President

tscott20@uthsc.edu  Dr. Brian Green
Radiology Interest Group of the UTHSC (Interventional)  Warner Thomas
Michael Seitz
President
Vice President


Dr. Wes Angel 
Street Medicine Interest Group Annie Ameha
Coleman Breland
President
Vice President
aameha@uthsc.edu
cbreland@uthsc.edu
Dr. Scott Morris
Student Committee on Research in Ed. (SCORE)  Sonia Ajmera President sajmera@uthsc.edu Dr. Matt Ennis
Amanda Currie Vice President acurrie3@uthsc.edu

Student Interest Group in Dermatology  Sri Pulusani President spulusan@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Skinner
Victoria Collier Vice President vcollier@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Kaplan
Student Interest Group in Neurology (SIGN)       Dr. Mervat Wahba
Student Interest Group in Ophthalmology (SIGIO)        Dr. Bill Morris
Student National Medical Association (SNMA)  Uchenna Anunobi
Christian Salcedo
President
Vice President
uanunobi@uthsc.edu
csalcedo@uthsc.edu
Dr. Gerald Presbury
Student Orthopaedic Association  Timothy Westbook
Martin Lu
President

Vice President
twestbr2@uthsc.edu

mlu7@uthsc.edu
Dr. Karen Hasty
Student Surgical Society   Ashley Dodd
Caroline Hymel
Michael Taylor
President
Vice President
Vice President
ashdodd@uthsc.edu
chymel@uthsc.edu
mtayl125@uthsc.edu
Dr. Gayle Minard
Student to Student  Radha Patel
Mary McBride
President
Vice President
  Dr. Claudette Shephard
Students for a National Health Program (SNaHP) Diana Alsbrook President dalsbro2@uthsc.edu Dr. Roger LaBonte
Ultrasound Interest Group Leighton Reed
Trent Stephen
President
Vice President
lreed22@uthsc.edu
tstephen@uthsc.edu
Dr. Steve Nace
UT Cardiology Interest Group Dennis Narcisse
Nicolas Ludi
President
Vice President
dnarciss@uthsc.edu
nludimod@uthsc.edu

Dr. Dwight Dishmon
UT Committee for Blood Collection Benjamin Zambetti
Ryan Lee
President
Vice President
bzambett@uthsc.edu
rlee39@uthsc.edu
Dr. Robert Johnson
UT Medical Student Psychiatry Society Taiane Ferrari President tferrar2@uthsc.edu Dr. Jyotsna Ranga
Dr. Khyati Kothari
UT Plastic Surgery Interest Group  Louisa Blyd
Jennings Hardee
President
Vice President
lboyd6@uthsc.edu

Dr. Robert Wallace 
UT Radiation Oncology Student Society(Elections in the Fall semester)       Dr. Michael Farmer 
UT Student Neurosurgical Society        Dr. Madison Michael 
UT Students for Preventive Medicine   President   Dr. Susan Brewer
UTHSC Chapter of Physicians for a National Health Program       Dr Roger LaBonte
UTHSC College of Medicine Medical Genetics Interest Group       Dr. Jewell Ward
UTHSC Nature Conservancy        Dr. Michael Whitt
Dr. Mark Miller
UTHSC Unite Priscilla Lothwell
Charlie Boyle
Ken Shaio
President
Co-President
Vice President
plothwel@uthsc.edu
cboyle2@uthsc.edu
kshaio@uthsc.edu
Dr. Martin Donaldson
Dr. Nikki Dyer
Urology Interest Group Michael Hailemariam President

  Dr. Robert Wake 
Wilderness, Austere and Rescue Medicine (WARM)       Dr. Barbara Geater
Women In Medicine and Science (WIMS)    Megan Goss
Madhuri Prasad
President
Vice President
sgoss1@uthsc.edu
mprasad2@uthsc.edu

Dr. Susan Brewer
Dr. Angela Cantrell
Dr. Suzanne Satterfield