VA Clearance & Security

Beginning in January of 2010 all trainees who are working or scheduled to work at the VA must complete a security clearance procedure prior to engaging in patient care on clinical rotations. The ruling was made in the Department of Homeland Security and applies to all VA hospitals and federal facilities nationwide.

The process requires the completion of 5 forms, fingerprinting and a criminal background check. We have students rotating at the VA in Internal Medicine, Neurology, Psychiatry, Radiology and Surgery clerkships so all of you will likely have contact with the VA in at least one of these rotations.

  1. Begin the process no later than 2-4 weeks prior to your first day on one of these rotations as it takes 2 weeks to be completed.
  2. Download the 5 compliance documents found on the the right side of this page and complete the information requested.
  3. Call the clerkship-specific coordinator for your rotation to make an appointment to bring your documents and schedule finger printing or re-fingerprinting. Their names and phone numbers are listed on this site. The coordinators have set aside specific times to process your documents. A phone call and appointment will save you a trip to the VA. They will help you with the forms and submit them to Dr Jim Lewis's office in the VA Department of Education.
  4. The VA Department of Education will then forward your application to Human Resources for initiation of the background check.
  5. The process should be initiated at least 2-4 weeks prior to beginning your clerkship or elective. You will need to download and complete the documents found on the links listed on this web-page and take the documents to the appropriate department.
  6. Once all of this is complete and you are cleared to work, you will be given access to the electronic medical record (EMR) and a temporary VA photo ID. You should wear your UT ID as well.

TB skin tests

The VA requires that all trainees have 2 negative TB skin tests within the last year. You will have the opportunity to participate in orientation to the clerkships week where University Health will be present to place and then read the skin tests. If you are an upperclassman you should present to University Health on your own. Remember, the skin test must be read in 48-72 hours. It can be placed on any weekday except Thursday.

Service Contact Person Phone # E-mail
Medicine Bobbie Morton 523-8990 ext 6659 Bobbie.Morton@va.gov  
Medicine Patty Nauman 523-8990 ext 6670 Patty.Naumann@va.gov
Medicine Marvalista Malone 523-8990 ext 6660 marvalista.malone@va.gov
Neurology Frances Bishop 523-8990 ext 6804 frances.bishop2@va.gov
Pathology Arleen Foster 523-8990 ext 7390 Arleen.foster@va.gov
Psychiatry Valerie Tunstall 523-8990 ext 2376 valerie.tunstall-ernest@va.gov
Radiology Joyce McGill 523-8990 ext 7260 joyce.mcgill2@va.gov
Surgery  Collette Scott 523-8990 ext 2123 Colette.scott@va.gov
Surgery Gerald Wells 523-8990 ext 6839 Gerald.wells@va.gov
Educational  Elston Howard 577-7207 Elston.Howard@va.gov
Olsen logo

Contact Us

UTHSC College of Medicine

Phone:901-448-5529
Fax: 901-448-7683

Executive Dean:
David M. Stern, M.D.