Faculty Research Committee


Specific areas of responsibility include, but are not limited to, policies and recommendations related to the following:

  • Enhancement of the research environment;
  • Policies on research grants and funding;
  • Policies on copyrights and patents;
  • Policies on human and animal research;
  • Policies on scientific misconduct and fraud;
  • Development of interdisciplinary research;
  • Removal of impediments to research.


  • To work with the Vice Chancellor of Research to develop and implement the guidelines for the evaluation process of Bridge Funding.
  • To work with administration to upgrade research equipment; and/or obtain service contracts for research equipment.
  • Review and support equitable guidelines for research space allocation.
  • Continue review of Post-doctoral Trainee issues.
  • Support Research Faculty professional development, including publication, resource availability and grant support.
  • Review and make recommendations on how faculty are evaluated for research efforts.
  • Work to require that a portion of the F&A be returned to the investigator.

Members of Committee

Radhakrishna Rao (Chair) College of Medicine - Basic
Sarka Beranova College of Pharmacy
George Cook College of Medicine - Basic
Robert Craft College of Medicine - Clinical
Zheng Fan College of Medicine - Basic
Oscar Grandas College of Medicine - Clinical
David Hamilton College of Medicine - Basic
Patti Johnstone College of Health Professions
Anastasios Karydis College of Dentistry
Victor Kolade College of Medicine - Clinical
Michael McDonald College of Medicine - Clinical
Reese Scroggs College of Medicine - Basic
Antheunis Versluis College of Dentistry
Juling Wang College of Pharmacy
Zhaohui (Sunny) Wu College of Medicine - Clinical

Contact Us

Faculty Senate President Office
Thaddeus A . Wilson, PhD
62 South Dunlap Rm 212
Memphis, TNĀ  38163
Phone: 901-448-8323