Skip to content

Faculty Senate

The UTHSC Faculty Senate represents the faculty in the shared governance of the university.

Senators are elected from the various departments. We work as a body and through committees to develop and recommend policies regarding the educational objectives of the campus. 

We consider, advise, and recommend policies and procedures in other matters which concern the general welfare of the faculty:

  • criteria for faculty appointment, dismissal, promotions, tenure, and retirement;
  • criteria for the selection of chief academic officer and other campus administrative officers; 
  • priorities for the university budget
  • priorities for the university development plan
  • changes in physical facilities
  • faculty grievances and recommendations to senior campus administrators

The Faculty Senate President serves on the University Faculty Council, who attend Board of Trustees meetings and advise the system president. The Senate is also represented in the Tennessee University Faculty Senates (TUFS), a statewide body representing faculty across the state.

 

2016-2017 Faculty Senate Meeting Dates

Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Last Published: May 5, 2017