Faculty Computing Committee


  • To represent the faculty in reporting the computing needs and concerns of the faculty on the UTHSC campus regarding training, infrastructure and support;
  • Regularly update the Faculty Senate blackboard site regarding committee work;
  • Provide input to handbook committee for faculty computing sections.


  • Facilitate communication and collaboration for the Faculty with the CIO Committee/IT Department and Administration regarding technologies and resources available to the Faculty.
  • Provide input to IT on new and existing technologies, including training for those technologies, as they relate to faculty academic, research, and clinical computing.
  • Promote continued expansion of electronic access to campus resources and events (i.e. meetings) from off campus via web-casting or other remote conferencing technologies.
  • Promote improved payment for faculty on major software innovations and a replacement cycle for faculty and student lab computers.
  • Establish a working relationship with the new CIO.

Members of Committee

Phyllis Richey (Chair) College of Medicine - Clinical
William Noyes College of Dentistry
Bill Callahan College of Dentistry
Jennifer Welch Unafilliated
Sharon McDonough College of Pharmacy
Marie Hatten College of Health Professions
Jami Brown College of Nursing
Tony Marion College of Medicine - Basic
Colleen Hastings College of Medicine - Clinical

Contact Us

Faculty Senate President
Terrance G. Cooper, Ph.D.
Harriet S. Van Vleet Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
Dept. of Microbiology, Immunology & Biochemistry
858 Madison Ave.
Memphis, TN 3863
Email: tcooper@uthsc.edu
Phone: Office (901) 448-6179
Phone: Lab    (901) 448-2882


Faculty Senate President Office
62 South Dunlap Rm 212
Memphis, TN  38163
Phone: 901-448-8323