Educational Policy Committee


Specific areas of responsibility include, but are not limited to, policies and recommendations related to the following:

  • Honor Code;
  • Curricular and instructional goals;
  • Proposal, review, and approval of new programs and elimination of existing programs;
  • Development of interdisciplinary programs;
  • Standards for admission, retention, graduation, and grading;
  • Teaching awards.


  • Review teaching awards currently available in each College and recommend establishing additional College and University-wide awards if appropriate.
  • Establish a procedure for regular communication with Academic Affairs about new program development or proposals and changes to or elimination of existing programs.
  • Review proposals for new programs and provide feedback and make recommendations about those programs.
  • Establish guidelines for and monitor the use of SafeAssign plagiarism checking software by faculty and students.
  • Review and provide recommendations for changes to proposed policies and procedures for teaching metrics; provide a committee member for a UTHSC committee reviewing these policies if requested.
  • Provide a stable link between the faculty and the faculty resource center.

Members of Committee

Jay Ragain, Chair College of Dentistry
Howard Bromley College of Medicine - Clinical
Marie Hatten    College of Health Professions
Vijaya Joshi College of Medicine-Clinical
Brian Kelly College of Medicine-Clinical
Jeff Phebus College of Dentistry
Tim Self College of Pharmacy
Sherry Webb College of Nursing
Wes Williamson College of Health Professions

Contact Us

Faculty Senate President Office
Thaddeus A . Wilson, PhD
62 South Dunlap Rm 212
Memphis, TN  38163
Phone: 901-448-8323