Clinical Affairs Committee

Responsibilities and Goals


Specific areas of responsibility include, but are not limited to, policies and recommendations related to the following:

  • Enhancing Awareness of Excellence in Clinical Activities
  • Promoting Clinical Research
  • Facilitating Corporate/Clinical Relations


  • Promote consistent Faculty Practice expectations and rewards within the Colleges and Departments.
  • Support Clinical Faculty professional development, including publication, resource availability and grant support.
  • Promote involvement of Clinical Faculty in all UTHSC missions by providing time to participate in teaching, research, and service.
  • Participate in the development and evaluation of policies and plans affecting Clinical Faculty and their missions.
  • Keep abreast of the new curriculum changes and be active in the content and implementation of the "Tool for Tracking Educational Activities".
  • Keep abreast of the construction plans of any new clinical building.

Members of Committee

Mack Land (Chair) College of Medicine - Clinical
Rajesh Cabra College of Medicine - Clinical
Colin Howden College of Medicine - Clinical
Jim Christian College of Dentistry
Alicia Diaz-Thomas College of Medicine - Clinical
Gary Malakoff College of Medicine - Clinical
Vinay Jain College of Dentistry
Helmut Steinberg College of Medicine - Clinical
Michael Levin College of Medicine - Clinical
Ellen Hamby College of Health Professions
Laura Reed College of Nursing

Contact Us

Faculty Senate President
Terrance G. Cooper, Ph.D.
Harriet S. Van Vleet Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
Dept. of Microbiology, Immunology & Biochemistry
858 Madison Ave.
Memphis, TN 3863
Phone: Office (901) 448-6179
Phone: Lab    (901) 448-2882


Faculty Senate President Office
62 South Dunlap Rm 212
Memphis, TN  38163
Phone: 901-448-8323