Budget and Benefits Committee


Specific areas of responsibility include, but are not limited to, policies and recommendations related to the following:

  • Faculty Handbook sections related to faculty compensation;
  • Compensated outside activities policy;
  • Faculty compensation package;
  • Campus-wide long-range planning;
  • Evaluation of space allocations and physical facilities;
  • Faculty recruitment and retention; and
  • Education of faculty about the budget process and related issues.


• Promote the dissemination of clearly stated Faculty compensation and benefits policies and encourage the equitable application of these policies across all colleges.
• Promote clear and equitable consideration regarding the criteria for faculty salary raises and bonuses (based on merit, market/gender equity and/or cost of living and salary compression).
• Provide Faculty input into the planning of the UTHSC annual budget and analyzing of administrative overhead.
• Monitor the campus debt service.

Members of Committee

Martin Donaldson (Chair) College of Dentistry
Dayna Myers College of Dentistry
Jay Ragain College of Dentistry
Duane Schafer College of Dentistry
Ricketta Clark College of Nursing
Chris Ledbetter College of Medicine - Clinical
Christiana Spivey College of Pharmacy
Jami Flick College of Health Professions
George Cook College of Medicine - Basic
Thad Wilson College of Medicine - Clinical

Contact Us

Faculty Senate President
Terrance G. Cooper, Ph.D.
Harriet S. Van Vleet Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
Dept. of Microbiology, Immunology & Biochemistry
858 Madison Ave.
Memphis, TN 3863
Email: tcooper@uthsc.edu
Phone: Office (901) 448-6179
Phone: Lab    (901) 448-2882


Faculty Senate President Office
62 South Dunlap Rm 212
Memphis, TN  38163
Phone: 901-448-8323