Skip to content

News and Events



Black History Month


Women's History Month


Diversity Week

Sexual Assault Awareness 

LGBTQ+ Health Awareness Month


Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

Jewish American Heritage Month


LGBTQ+ Pride Month


September - October

National Hispanic Heritage Month


National Disability Employment Awareness

Domestic Violence Awareness

American Pharmacist


National Native American Heritage Month

 Faria Chaudhry

Alumnis named Ms. Pakistan 

Faria Chaudhry, PharmD, a 2020 graduate of the UTHSC College of Pharmacy, was named Mrs. Pakistan USA at the Miss Pakistan USA pageant August 31. Chaudhry was also named Mrs. Perfect, Mrs. People’s Choice, and Mrs. Photogenic.



Tyler Kiles

Student pharmacist designs language learning program for professional students

Kevin Estrada, a third-year student pharmacist at the College of Pharmacy’s Knoxville campus, is working on a program to allow students in professional programs such as pharmacy to learn Spanish to better serve their patients. 

Tyler Kiles

Kiles named Young Pharmacist of the Year by NPhA

Tyler Marie Kiles, PharmD, BCADM, assistant professor in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Translational Science, was named the Young Pharmacist of the Year by the National Pharmaceutical Association (NPhA). 

Leslie Hamilton

Hamilton receives FNCS designation

Leslie Hamilton, PharmD, FCCP, FCCM, BCPS, BCCCP, associate professor in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Translational Science, received a Diversity and Inclusion Mini-Grant from the UTHSC Office of Equity and Diversity. 

Juan Rodriguez

Rodriguez serves as APhA-ASP National President

Juan Rodriguez, a third-year student pharmacist on the Memphis campus, is serving as National President for the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APha-ASP) with a theme of unity and diversity. Rodriguez said this platform theme had two inspirations. The first was prompted by social events of the past year related to racism, diversity, and equity.

Kevin Darko

Kevin Darko receives scholarship for recommendation to LEAP@Lilly

Kevin Darko, a fourth-year student and member of the EID Advisory Board received a scholarship for recommendation to LEAP@Lilly for his work regarding Eli Lilly using pharmacists to obtain patient feedback. The recommendation was submitted as part of the LEAP@Lilly Scholarship competition. 


Upcoming Events

Native American Heritage Month

A Code-Switching Thanksgiving

Join the Office of Inclusion, Equity, and Diversity, College of Health Professions and Pharmacy for "A Code-Switching Thanksgiving", a panel discussion you do not want to miss!

The Office of Inclusion, Equity, and Diversity, the Colleges of Dentistry, Health Professions and Pharmacy have teamed up to host a FREE panel discussion to commemorate Native American Heritage Month. 

This panel will be moderated by Drs. Eric Bailey and Stephanie Lancaster and will feature individuals to speak on their lived and/or professional experience working with Indigenous people. 

November 16, 2021 | Noon (CST)
Register here


Last Published: Nov 5, 2021