

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

UTHSC Faculty Senate Meeting

Zoom Monthly Meeting September 10, 2024

Attendance: (senators, administrators, and faculty)

Attending: Dan Young, Ted Cory, Lee Weaver, Helmut O Steinberg, Terrance G Cooper, Fuming Zhou, Molly Erickson, Anna Bukiya, Tayebeh Pourmotabbed, Jeffry Bieber, Katherine L March, Donna Lynch-Smith, Tyler Melton, Peter Buckley, Vickie Baselski, Liza Makowski, Scott Hollis, Hitesh S Sandhu, Jayc Sedlmayr, Jagueline D Venturin, Stephen Rauls, Fatima Ahmed, Jill Maples, Kim Carter, Thaddeus A Wilson, Karen J Derefinko, Sharon Little, College of Nursing, Rebecca B Reynolds, Tracy McClinton, Rima Zahr, Twisha Oza, Sarah J Rhoads, Imran Quraishi, Laura T Reed, Nina Sublette, Paul J Koltnow, David W Petersen, Rajashekhar Gangaraju, Cindy Russell, Rachel Barenie, Tauheed Ishrat, Michelle Lynn Abramovitz, Ron Espinal, Hassan Almoazen, Karine Guerrier, Mahmoud Hassouba, Jillian McCarthy, Chris Wood, Maria Carrillo, Kevin William Freeman, Yi Lu, Nikhil Gopal, Phyllis Richey, April Hilsdon, Ioannis Dragatsis, Ramesh Narayanan, Laxmichaya Sawant, Vernon Pennington, Mike McDonald, Dina Filiberto, Ben Maddox, Ayman Abdul H Aldayeh, Jess Newman McDonald, Alex Schaller, Steven M Doettl, Kristen Bettin, Chalet Tan, Stephen Pishko, Myra M Meekins, Kimberly Morris, Ashton Brooks, Vrushali Abhvankar, Vickie Porter, Ranjit Philip, Ji Min Yochim, Carrie Harvey, Cheran Elangovan, Zheng Fan, Stephen Always, Stephanie Cage, jeff Kalmowicz, Yanhui Zhang, Sandeep Chilakala, Blake Moore, Jess Wesberry

Faculty Senate Meeting



Meeting was called to order at 4:00 pm CDT/5:00 pm EDT

Presiding: Dr. Tracy McClinton, President

Opening of the Senate by Chancellor Buckley

- Excited for the beginning of the new academic year
- Previous year accomplishments include handbook and multiyear appointments
- Upcoming celebration of promotion and tenure
- Will build on results of the faculty survey and upcoming COACHE surveys
- Value of Shared governance, and continuing to build shared governance
 - Advisory board and other meeting minutes will be publicly available
 - Staff senate is active, with increased staff representation
 - Friday the 27th in Memphis: Townhall meeting in person only
- Family campaign: Staff and Faculty Senate ECs have pledged 100% support
- Saturday the 21st Tailgate on Campus for UT football

Business Discussion with Dr. Tracy McClinton Welcome to new Senators

• Welcome to both new and returning senators

Introduction to Senate Officers

• Brief introductions from EC members

Discussion and Approval of the June 11, 2024, minutes

- The floor was opened for discussion of the June 11, 2024 meeting minutes. No edits were recommended. Dr. Terry Cooper motioned to accept the minutes as written. Motion was seconded by Dr. Donna Lynch-Smith.
- Poll Everywhere Vote:
 - Approve: 62



Memphis Knoxville Chattanooga Nashville

- Do not approve: 0
- o Abstain: 0

Faculty Senate Orientation

- Responsibilities of a senator: Dr. Thad McGiness
 - o Being active as a senator and coming to meetings
 - Reach out and be active in committees
 - Feed the information back and forth to department/college
- Purpose of being a chair of a committee: Mr. PJ Koltnow
 - Can't get things changed without participating
 - Ability to develop as a leader
 - o Ability to represent your department to a larger setting
 - Professional growth and build profile at the University
- Shared Governance: Dr. Jillian McCarthy and Vice Chancellor Cindy Russell
 - Purpose of the senate is to represent the faculty as sole elected body and to provide means for participation
 - Discussion of stakeholders for the University, board of trustees, UT system president, UT Health Science Center Chancellor, advisory board, senate
 - Regular meetings with Chancellors/administration and elected officers of the senate
 - Committees work to inform major university decisions and faculty participation
 - Different perspectives help to ensure groups come together to solve problems.
 - Collaborative viewpoints and perspectives

Presentation and Vote on Committee Memberships and goals

- Presentation on slideset which was previously sent out on committee goals, responsibilities, and members
- Vote to approve 2024-2025 Committee goals and responsibilities. Motion: Dr. Raj Gangaraju, Second: Dr. Karine Guerrier



Memphis Knoxville Chattanooga Nashville

- Poll Everywhere Vote:
 - Approve: 52
 - Do not approve: 0
 - Abstain: 0

New Business

- Encouragement to attend open house meetings with administration to support the senate
- Speakers for the rest of the year include: SAVC Valarie Fleming, VCR Jessica Snowden, EVC Raj Kurapati

Announcements

None

The meeting was adjourned at 4:52 pm CDT/5:52 pm EST.

Respectfully Submitted, Dr. Ted Cory Faculty Senate Secretary