

The *UTHSC Faculty Senate* is the representative body through which the faculty participate in University affairs and shared governance. Through committees and a democratically elected legislative body it promulgates policies and regulations regarding the general educational objectives of UTHSC.

The Senate also considers, advises, and recommends policies and procedures in other matters which concern the general welfare of the faculty including criteria for faculty appointment, dismissal, promotions, tenure, and retirement; criteria for the selection of the chief academic officer and other campus administrative officers; priorities for the University budget; priorities for the University development plan; and changes in physical facilities.

The Faculty Senate may consider, advise, and recommend on proposed policies regarding student life, rights, and responsibilities.

UTHSC Faculty Senate

2017-2018 Officers

Martin M. Donaldson, COD, President
Jennifer Langford, Library, Secretary/Treasurer
Terrance Cooper, COM, Past President
George Cook, COM, President Elect

Executive Committee Members

Martin Donaldson, COD

George Cook, COM

Terrance Cooper, COM

Jennifer Langford, Library & Unaffiliated Units

Margaret Hartig, CON

Mack Land, COM

Carol Likens, COHP

Frank Park, COP

Janes Ragain, Jr., COD

R. K. Rao, COM

Phyllis Richey, COM

Committees and Chairs

Budget and Benefits: Duane Schafer, COD

Clinical Affairs: Mack Land, COM

Education & Academic Affairs: Margaret Hartig, CON

Faculty Affairs: Richard Smith, COM

Faculty Research: R. K. Rao, COM

Faculty Computing: Phyllis Richey, COM

Legislative Resource: Carol Likens, COHP

University Faculty Council

Phyllis Richey, COM