Two UT Pharmacy Wins

Chapter Wins Division Achievement and Awards

The UT APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) won the award for Chapter Achievement in Division A at the 2011 APhA Meeting in Seattle, WA. Divisions are determined by the total enrollment of the college.

Chapter-Wins-Division-Achievement-and-Awards Student Pharmacists:
Hamilton Borden, Elizabeth Ackerman, Cole Larsen, Whitney Elliott and Morgan Honeycutt.

Division A consists of schools with an enrollment greater than 500 student pharmacists. This awards comes only one year after the chapter won APhA-ASP Chapter of the Year. ASP’s other achievements this year are the Regional Immunization Award and they achieved a five star rating for consistent years of outstanding service. The UT ASP chapter is one of only four chapters in the nation to receive this honor. Finally, student pharmacist Elizabeth Ackerman represented the college in the National Patient Counseling Competition.

UT Pharmacy Club Wins Again

EUT Pharmacy Club Wins Again

The University of Tennessee Chapter of the American Pharmacists Association – Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) was named Chapter of the Year during the association's 2010 Annual Meeting held in Washington, D.C. The UT chapter, which comprises 545 members on the UT College of Pharmacy's campuses in Memphis and Knoxville, competed alongside 110 other pharmacy schools across the United States and Puerto Rico. The APhA-ASP Chapter of the Year is awarded to the chapter that excels in such areas as patient care projects, advocacy, and advancing the professional development of its members.

Each year, the UT APhA-ASP Chapter held more than 150 community outreach events. Students immunized more than 10,000 people during the flu season, counseled more than 5,000 patients on various health care topics, created a medication disposal program that collected more than 300 pounds of unused and expired medications, and promoted the profession by educating the public on what their pharmacist can do for them.

"I am extremely proud of our ASP students," said Dean Dick Gourley who leads the UT College of Pharmacy. "They have done a remarkable job of representing the University of Tennessee Health Science Center to the public and to the profession. My congratulations to the members, officers, and faculty advisors for their continued success!"

"This is an exciting time to be a member of APhA-ASP at the University of Tennessee," remarked Clay Cooper, chapter president. " We are consistently among the top chapters in the nation and it is indeed something to be proud of. We work hard all year to make a difference in the lives of our patients and in our profession. Being recognized on the national level for those efforts is a real honor."

Since 2000, the UT APhA-ASP chapter has been awarded seven Regional Operation Immunization Awards, six Regional Operation Diabetes Awards, one Regional Heartburn Awareness Award, two National Operation Immunizations Awards, two National Patient Care Awards, five Divisional Chapter Achievement Awards, and three Chapter of the Year Awards. In addition, two National Presidents, two National Members at Large, and three Regional Officers have been elected from the rolls of the UT APhA-ASP Chapter.