Meibohm President-Elect of American College of Clinical Pharmacology

Dr. Meibohm Sitting at his desk

Bernd Meibohm, PhD, professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and associate dean for Research and Graduate Programs has been elected as 2012-14 president-elect of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology (ACCP). His term will begin during the ACCP Annual Meeting September 23-25, 2012 in San Diego. The president-elect is part of the executive committee and assumes the duties of the president in their absence. The president-elect succeeds the president once their two year term is complete. "Regarding the election, I am of course honored by the trust and confidence that the ACCP Board of Regents has put in me by electing me to this leadership role for the organization," said Meibohm. "The American College of Clinical Pharmacology is truly an interprofessional organization in which pharmacists, physicians and scientists are working jointly together to improve drug development and applied pharmacotherapy. It overcomes the usual silo structure of other professional organizations and facilitates interactions among professionals as we all experience them in our daily work and practice."

Dr. Meibohm received a BS in pharmacy and PhD in pharmaceutics from the Technical University of Carolo-Wilhelmina in Braunschweig, Germany. After completion of a clinical pharmacology research fellowship at the University of Florida in 1997, he joined the faculty of the University of South Carolina. In 1999, he joined the University of Tennessee. Dr. Meibohm's scientific interests include pulmonary infectious and inflammatory diseases, pediatric pharmacotherapy and the application of quantitative modeling and simulation techniques in preclinical and clinical drug development, with specific focus on therapeutic proteins. His research has attracted more than $6 million in extramural funding as principal and co-investigator and has resulted in over 100 scientific papers and book chapters, two textbooks, 130 abstracts, and over 100 invited scientific presentations to national and international audiences.

Dr. Meibohm is a Fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) and American College of Clinical Pharmacology (ACCP), and recipient of the 2000 AAPS ‘New Investigator Award in PK, PD and Drug Metabolism.' He chaired the 2010 ‘Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics and Drug Metabolism' (PPDM) section of AAPS and recently began a five year term on ACCP's governing Board of Regents. Dr. Meibohm also serves as associate editor for the AAPS Journal, as section editor for ‘Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics' for the Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, and is a member of the editorial boards for the Journal of Pediatric Pharmacology and Therapeutics, the Journal of Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics, Les Annales Pharmaceutiques Fran├žaises and Die Pharmazie.