Surgical Faculty

James Beaty MDJames H. Beaty, MD

James H. Beaty, MD is Chair of the University of Tennessee-Campbell Clinic Department of Orthopaedics and Biomedical Engineering and holds the Harold B. Boyd, MD Professorship in Orthopaedic Surgery. Dr. Beaty is a graduate of Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia. He served as chief of staff at Campbell Clinic from 2001 to 2010. In addition to being the past president of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Dr. Beaty has served as president of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, the Mid-America Orthopaedic Association and the Tennessee Orthopaedic Society. He is also a member of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, for which he served as president in 2007-2008. Dr. Beaty has edited seven textbooks, including Fractures in Children and Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics, authored 58 book chapters, and published nearly 70 peer-reviewed scientific articles. He has given many scientific presentations and held visiting professorships nationally and internationally.

Physicians, By Subspecialty

Foot & Ankle

Benjamin J. Grear, MD, Instructor
Susan N. Ishikawa, MD, Assistant Professor
G. Andrew Murphy, MD, Associate Professor
David R. Richardson, MD, Associate Professor, Director Foot & Ankle Fellowship


James H. Calandruccio, MD, Associate Professor, Director Hand Fellowship
David L. Cannon, MD, Associate Professor
Mark T. Jobe, MD, Associate Professor
Benjamin M. Mauck, MD, Instructor
George W. Wood II, MD, Professor

Orthopaedic Oncology

Robert K. Heck, Jr., MD, Associate Professor
Patrick C. Toy, MD, Assistant Professor

Pediatric Orthopaedics

James H. Beaty, MD, Professor
S. Terry Canale, MD, Professor, Department Chair
Derek M. Kelly, MD, Associate Professor, Assistant Residency Program Director
Jeffrey R. Sawyer, MD, Professor, Director Pediatric Orthopaedic Fellowship
David D. Spence, MD, Assistant Professor
William C. Warner, Jr., MD, Professor

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Douglas T. Cannon, MD
Santos Martinez, MD, Assistant Professor


Gregory D. Dabov, MD, Assistant Professor
Thomas W. (Quin) Throckmorton, MD, Professor, Residency Program Director


Francis X. Camillo, MD, Associate Professor
Raymond J. Gardocki, MD, Assistant Professor
Keith D. Williams, MD, Associate Professor

Sports Medicine

Frederick M. Azar, MD, Professor, Director Sports Medicine Fellowship
Anthony A. Mascioli, MD, Assistant Professor
Robert H. Miller III, MD, Associate Professor
Barry B. Phillips, MD, Associate Professor
Nahum Beard, MD, Instructor
John Hyden, MD
Marc J. Mihalko, MD, Assistant Professor
Patrick C. Toy, MD, Assistant Professor

Total Joint Replacement

Kevin B. Cleveland, MD, Instructor
Andrew H. Crenshaw, MD, Associate Professor
John R. Crockarell, Jr, MD, Professor
Gregory D. Dabov, MD, Assistant Professor
James L. Guyton, MD, Associate Professor
James W. Harkess, MD, Associate Professor
Anthony A. Mascioli, MD, Assistant Professor
Marc J. Mihalko, MD, Assistant Professor
William M. Mihalko, MD, PhD, Hyde Professor in Biomechanical Engineering
Patrick C. Toy, MD, Assistant Professor


Edward A. Perez, MD, Associate Professor
Matthew I. Rudloff, MD, Assistant Professor
John C. Weinlein, MD, Assistant Professor
A. Paige Whittle, MD, Associate Professor

Contact Us

Department of
Orthopaedic Surgery and Biomedical Engineering

1211 Union Ave. Suite 520
Memphis, TN 38104

Pat Goedecke
Phone: (901) 448-5879
Fax: (901) 448-3208

Campbell Foundation Education Office
1211 Union Ave Suite 510
Memphis, TN 38104

Resident Program

Renee Poe
Education Coordinator
Phone: (901) 759-3275

Fellowship Program

Rosemary Bankston
Education Coordinator
Phone: (901) 759-3274