Dean's Faculty Advisory Council University of Tennessee, College of Medicine

May 4, 2020

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the president, Dr. Burt Sharp, at 12:03 PM on May 4, 2020, by Zoom online platform.

Attendance

The following members were present:

Penny A. Asbell, MD, Mace Coday, PhD, Julio F. Cordero-Morales, PhD, Terry Cooper, PhD, Denis DiAngelo, PhD, KU Malik, PhD, DSc, Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD, Lawrence Pfeffer, PhD, Crystal Pourciau, MD, Ryan Rahman, MD, Burt Sharp, MD, Claudette Shepherd, MD, Jerome Thompson, MD, MBA, Joe Willmitch, MPAS, PA-C, Thad Wilson, PhD

The following guest(s) was (were) present:

Polly Hofmann, PhD, Peg Hartig, PhD

Approval of minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as written. Minutes had previously been distributed by electronic means.

Business

The College of Medicine Annual Meeting will be May 18, 2020, at 4:00pm by Zoom online platform. DFAC elections will have one candidate each for President-Elect and Secretary, with options for write-in candidates.

Dr. Terry Cooper then used "screen sharing" to present by Zoom the remaining changes to the College of Medicine Bylaws. They were approved unanimously, with the proviso that a sentence be written to define more clearly the difference between informal versus formal peer review of teaching. Dr. Cooper wrote that sentence and made two other changes which were distributed, voted on and approved by DFAC members that same afternoon.

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the committee will be held on June 1 (or later), 2020, at 12:00 Noon in the Coleman building, Room A101, or by Zoom platform.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:45 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD Secretary