Academic and Clinical Faculty


Name Title Area of Expertise Phone Email

Chair of Department

Ashley Harkrider, PhD Professor Physiological Correlates of Auditory Perception (865) 974-1810 aharkrid@uthsc.edu
Program Directors
Patrick N. Plyler, PhD Professor Diagnostic audiology, amplification, and aural rehabilitation. Current research projects are examining the effectiveness of digital hearing instruments as well as the efficacy of bone-conducted otoacoustic emissions. (865) 974-7588 pplyler@uthsc.edu
Tim Saltuklaroglu, PhD Associate Professor Stuttering, Speech Perception (865) 974-0355 tsaltukl@uthsc.edu

Academic Faculty

Devin Casenhiser, PhD Assistant Professor Functional and Cognitive Factors Affecting Language Learning in Neurotypical and Autistic Populations (865) 974-1808 dcasenhi@uthsc.edu
Molly Erickson, PhD Associate Professor Voice and Speech Science (865) 974-9895 merickso@uthsc.edu
Katie Faulkner, PhD Assistant Professor Adult and pediatric cochlear implantation, cognitive hearing science, and aural rehabilitation 856-974-1793 kfaulkner@uthsc.edu
Mark Hedrick, PhD Professor Speech perception, psychophysics (865) 974-8105 mhedric1@uthsc.edu
Patti Johnstone, PhD Associate Professor, Director of Audiology Unaided, aided and prosthetic spatial hearing; Hearing loss prevention (865) 974-3319 pjohnst1@uthsc.edu
James Lewis, PhD



Assistant Professor Otoacoustic emissions, cochlear mechanics, and sound transmission in the ear canal and middle ear. (865) 974-0354 jlewis69@uthsc.edu
Jillian H. McCarthy, PhD, CCC-SLP Assistant Professor Child language and literacy; Speech Sound Disorders, Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) (865) 974-3761
Office:527 SSH
jmccar21@uthsc.edu
Elena Patten, PhD Assistant Professor Early detection of autism spectrum disorders; vocal development, sensory processing & attention (865) 974-4802 Epatten1@uthsc.edu
Kevin Reilly, PhD Assistant Professor Speech motor control; sensorimotor integration; speech sequencing in healthy speakers and speakers with dysarthria; (865) 974-5219 kreilly3@uthsc.edu

Clinical Faculty - Hearing and Speech Center

Ellen Hamby, PhD, CCC-SLP Clinical Associate Professor Evaluation and treatment of adult neurogenic communication disorders (865) 974-4652 ehamby@uthsc.edu
Tricia Hedinger, MS, CCC-SLP Clinical Assistant Professor Fluency Disorders, Early Childhood Language Disorders, Pediatric Feeding Disorders (865) 974-4641 thedinge@uthsc.edu
Sue Bessel Hume, PhD, CCC-SLP Clinical Associate Professor Voice disorders, phonological and structural speech disorders; childhood apraxia (865) 974-4657 shume@uthsc.edu
Carrie E. Mills, PhD, CCC-SLP Clinical Assistant Professor Speech sound and language disorders, literacy, dysphagia, cognition (865) 974-4647 cmills3@uthsc.edu
Nola T. Radford, PhD,
CCC-SLP, BCS-F
Professor, 
Clinical Ed & Research Director
Stuttering Intervention for School-age Children, Language Development and Disorders in Children, Speech Sound Disorder, Speech-language screening in Mild Cognitive Impairment Associated with Alzheimer's Dementia, Student Engagement and Use of Technology in Higher Education, Clinical Supervision   nradford@uthsc.edu
Teresa R. Vaughn, MA, CCC-SLP Clinical Associate Professor Evaluation and treatment of pediatric patients with an emphasis in speech sound disorders, autism, language delay, and feeding disorders (865) 974-1789 tvaughn@uthsc.edu
Allison Wegman, MS, CCC-SLP Clinical Assistant Professor Evaluation and treatment in speech sound disorders and language delay and adult neurogenic disorder and dysphagia. (865) 974-0658 awegman1@uthsc.edu
Jennifer Wilson, MA, CCC-SLP


Clinical Instructor Pediatric feeding/swallowing issues, speech and language delays/disorders and voice disorders. (865) 974-6740  

Clinical Faculty - Audiology Clinic

Steven M. Doettl, AuD, CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor Vestibular evaluation and treatment; auditory and vestibular electrophysiological assessment; diagnostic evaluation and amplification for the adult population (865) 974-3764 sdoettl@uthsc.edu
Brittany Rinehart Grayless, AuD, CCC-A Clinical Instructor Diagnostic audiology and amplification for the adult population; tinnitus evaluation and treatment; vestibular evaluation and treatment, vestibular electrophysiological assessment (865) 974-9076 brinehar@uthsc.edu
Jennifer Hausladen, AuD, CCC-A Clinical Assistant Professor Adult diagnostic evaluation and amplification services (865) 974-9076 jhauslad@uthsc.edu
Beth Humphrey, AuD, CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor Diagnostic audiology and amplification for both pediatric and adult populations, cochlear implant programming, cochlear implant mapping and auditory processing evaluations (865) 974-2548 humphre1@uthsc.edu
Erin Plyler, AuD, CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor Serves pediatric patients birth through 21 years old. Specializing in pediatric diagnostics, amplification (hearing aids and FM systems) and auditory processing evaluations (865) 974-3765 erinp@uthsc.edu
Kelly Yeager, AuD, CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor Primarily serves birth to age 21 including, infant hearing screenings / electrophysiological diagnostic evaluations, audiological behavioral diagnostic evaluations, hearing aid/ FM evaluations/fittings, cochlear implant mapping and family support/education. (865) 974-1799 kyeager@uthsc.edu

Clinical Faculty - Child Hearing Services

Velvet Buehler, MA, CCC-SLP, CCC-A Clinical Professor Aural habilitation for children with hearing impairments; aural habilitation for children with cochlear implants; evaluation of children with central auditory processing disorders (CAPD); evaluation and fitting of amplification devices (865) 974-1798 velvet@uthsc.edu
Ashley Irick, MS, CCC-SLP Clinical Instructor Pediatric and Adult Aural Habilitation therapy for individuals who use cochlear implants and hearing aids; Aural/Oral communication assessments, pre and post cochlear implant evaluations for children and adults; family support and education; Adult cochlear implant auditory training; treatment of children with auditory processing disorders. (865) 974-4758 ayoung12@uthsc.edu
Emily Noss, MA, CCC-SLP Clinical Assistant Professor and Clinical Coordinator Pediatric Aural Habilitation for children who use cochlear implants and hearing aids; Aural/Oral communication assessments; pre- and post-cochlear implant evaluations; Aural Habilitation pre-school program; parent support and education; adult cochlear implant auditory training; Alternative/augmentative communication (865) 974-8663 eclark1@uthsc.edu
Autumn Sanderson, MA, CCC-SLP Clinical Instructor Areas of Expertise: Pediatric and adult aural habilitation therapy; aural/oral communication assessments; pre- and post-cochlear implant evaluations; family support and education; evaluation and treatment of children with central auditory processing disorders. (865) 974-1797  

Clinical Faculty - Pediatric Language Clinic

Vickie Barnes, MA, CCC-SLP Clinical Associate Professor Pediatrics (birth-to-three); specifically in the areas of autism/PDD, sensory integration / motor development, augmentative communication, oral motor stimulation, and apraxia (865) 974-6702 vbarnes1@uthsc.edu
Libby Beidelschies, MA, CCC-SLP



Clinical Instructor Early language development, feeding, and oral motor skills in the birth to three population (865) 974-6702  lbeidels@uthsc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kimberly Barry, AuD, FAAA, CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor Adult and geriatric diagnostic audiology; vestibular assessment; hearing aid outcomes; professional issues 706-731-7260 kimberly.barry@va.gov
Joseph Smaldino, PhD Professor Classroom acoustics, adult aural rehabilitation, speech perception, outcomes measurement, hearing science, physiological measures of audition 815-762-5984 smaldinoj@comcast.net
Joanna W. Tampas, PhD, CCC-A Clinical Assistant Professor Auditory electophysiology, Adult diagnostic audiology, Telehealth (865) 545-4592 joanna.tampas@va.gov

Emeritus Faculty

Carl Asp, PhD Emeritus Verbotonal and Speech Science   casp@utk.edu
Samuel B. Burchfield, PhD Emeritus Amplification   samburch@utk.edu
Jerry Carney, PhD Emeritus Professional Development, Structural Disorders   jcarney@utk.edu
Jack Ferrell, MA Emeritus Hearing Conservation and Sound Level Measurement   cjf01@comcast.net
Anna K. Nabelek, PhD Emeritus Hearing Aid Outcome (865) 974-1806 anabelek@utk.edu
Igor Nabelek, PhD Emeritus Speech Perception   nabeleki@utk.edu
Ilsa Schwarz, PhD Emeritus Child Language and Literacy (865) 974-4802 ischwarz@utk.edu
Carol Sheridan, MA, CCC-SLP Emeritus Pediatric language and phonology (865) 974-4641 csherida@utk.edu
James W. Thelin, PhD Emeritus Clinical procedures in audiology. Hearing/vestibular disorders, communication development in CHARGE syndrome.   jthelin@utk.edu