Academic and Clinical Faculty


Name Title Area of Expertise Phone Email

Chair of Department

Ashley Harkrider, Ph.D. Professor Physiological Correlates of Auditory Perception 865-974-1810 aharkrid@uthsc.edu
Program Directors
Patrick N. Plyler, Ph.D. Professor Diagnostic audiology, amplification, and aural rehabilitation. Current research projects are examining the effectiveness of digital hearing instruments as well as the efficacy of bone-conducted otoacoustic emissions. 865-974-7588 pplyler@uthsc.edu
Tim Saltuklaroglu, Ph.D. Associate Professor Stuttering, Speech Perception 865-974-0355 tsaltukl@uthsc.edu

Academic Faculty

Devin Casenhiser, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Functional and Cognitive Factors Affecting Language Learning in Neurotypical and Autistic Populations 865-974-1808 dcasenhi@uthsc.edu
Molly Erickson, Ph.D. Associate Professor Voice and Speech Science 865-974-9895 merickso@uthsc.edu
Mark Hedrick, Ph.D. Professor Speech perception, psychophysics 865-974-8105 mhedric1@uthsc.edu
Patti Johnstone, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Director of Audiology Unaided, aided and prosthetic spatial hearing; Hearing loss prevention 865-974-3319 pjohnst1@uthsc.edu
Kristin A. King, Ph.D., CCC-SLP Assistant Professor Adult and Child Neuropathological Disorders; cognitive-linguistic processing, hemispheric processing 865-974-5277 kking29@uthsc.edu
Jillian H. McCarthy, Ph.D., CCC-SLP Assistant Professor Child language and literacy; Speech Sound Disorders, Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) 865-974-3761
Office:527 SSH
jmccar21@uthsc.edu
Kevin Reilly, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Speech motor control; sensorimotor integration; speech sequencing in healthy speakers and speakers with dysarthria; 865-974-5219 kreilly3@uthsc.edu
Deborah von Hapsburg, Ph.D. Associate Professor Pediatric audiology, and Bilingual language perception. 865-974-0354 dvh@uthsc.edu

Clinical Faculty - Hearing and Speech Center

Ann Michael, Ph.D., CCC-SLP Clinical Professor and Director of Clinical Services Language and literacy skills in young children 865-974-5451 amichae3@uthsc.edu
Ellen Hamby, Ph.D., CCC-SLP Clinical Associate Professor Evaluation and treatment of adult neurogenic communication disorders 865-974-4652 ehamby@uthsc.edu
Tricia Hedinger, MS, CCC-SLP Clinical Assistant Professor Fluency Disorders, Early Childhood Language Disorders, Pediatric Feeding Disorders 865-974-4641 thedinge@uthsc.edu
Sue Bessel Hume, Ph.D., CCC-SLP Clinical Associate Professor Voice disorders, phonological and structural speech disorders; childhood apraxia 865-974-4657 shume@uthsc.edu
Carrie E. Mills, Ph.D., CCC-SLP Clinical Assistant Professor Speech sound and language disorders, literacy, dysphagia, cognition 865-974-4647 cmills3@uthsc.edu
Teresa R. Vaughn, M.A., CCC-SLP Clinical Associate Professor Evaluation and treatment of pediatric patients with an emphasis in speech sound disorders, autism, language delay, and feeding disorders 865-974-1789 tvaughn@uthsc.edu
Allison Wegman, M.S., CCC-SLP Clinical Assistant Professor Evaluation and treatment in speech sound disorders and language delay and adult neurogenic disorder and dysphagia. 865-974-0658 awegman1@uthsc.edu

Clinical Faculty - Audiology Clinic

Steven M. Doettl, Au.D., CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor Vestibular evaluation and treatment; auditory and vestibular electrophysiological assessment; diagnostic evaluation and amplification for the adult population 865-974-3764 sdoettl@uthsc.edu
Jennifer Hausladen, Au.D., CCC-A Clinical Instructor Adult diagnostic evaluation and amplification services 865-974-9076 jhauslad@uthsc.edu
Beth Humphrey, Au.D., CCC-A Clinical Assistant Professor Diagnostic audiology and amplification for both pediatric and adult populations, cochlear implant programming, cochlear implant mapping and auditory processing evaluations 865-974-2548 humphre1@uthsc.edu
Erin Plyler, Au.D., CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor Serves pediatric patients birth through 21 years old. Specializing in pediatric diagnostics, amplification (hearing aids and FM systems) and auditory processing evaluations 865-974-3765 erinp@uthsc.edu
Nancy Schay, Au.D., CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor and Clinical Coordinator Adult diagnostic & amplification services; Auditory electrophysiological assessment; vestibular assessment 865-974-5453 nschay@uthsc.edu
Kelly Yeager, Au.D., CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor Primarily serves birth to age 21 including, infant hearing screenings / electrophysiological diagnostic evaluations, audiological behavioral diagnostic evaluations, hearing aid/ FM evaluations/fittings, cochlear implant mapping and family support/education. 865-974-1799 kyeager@uthsc.edu

Clinical Faculty - Child Hearing Services

Velvet Buehler, M.A., CCC-SLP, CCC-A Clinical Professor Aural habilitation for children with hearing impairments; aural habilitation for children with cochlear implants; evaluation of children with central auditory processing disorders (CAPD); evaluation and fitting of amplification devices 865-974-1798 velvet@uthsc.edu
Ashley Irick, M.S., CCC-SLP Clinical Instructor Pediatric and Adult Aural Habilitation therapy for individuals who use cochlear implants and hearing aids; Aural/Oral communication assessments, pre and post cochlear implant evaluations for children and adults; family support and education; Adult cochlear implant auditory training; treatment of children with auditory processing disorders. 865-974-4758 ayoung12@uthsc.edu
Emily Noss, M.A., CCC-SLP Clinical Assistant Professor and Clinical Coordinator Pediatric Aural Habilitation for children who use cochlear implants and hearing aids; Aural/Oral communication assessments; pre- and post-cochlear implant evaluations; Aural Habilitation pre-school program; parent support and education; adult cochlear implant auditory training; Alternative/augmentative communication 865-974-8663 eclark1@uthsc.edu
Autumn Sanderson, M.A., CCC-SLP Clinical Instructor Areas of Expertise: Pediatric and adult aural habilitation therapy; aural/oral communication assessments; pre- and post-cochlear implant evaluations; family support and education; evaluation and treatment of children with central auditory processing disorders. 865-974-1797  

Clinical Faculty - Pediatric Language Clinic

Vickie Barnes, M.A., CCC-SLP Clinical Associate Professor Pediatrics (birth-to-three); specifically in the areas of autism/PDD, sensory integration / motor development, augmentative communication, oral motor stimulation, and apraxia 865-974-6702 vbarnes1@uthsc.edu
Laura Genet, M.S., CCC-SLP Clinical Instructor Early Intervention for children (0-3), with primary areas of interest in autism spectrum disorders 423-963-6203 lgenet@uthsc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kimberly Barry, Au.D., FAAA, CCC-A Clinical Associate Professor Adult and geriatric diagnostic audiology; vestibular assessment; hearing aid outcomes; professional issues 706-731-7260 kimberly.barry@va.gov
Joseph Smaldino, Ph.D. Professor Classroom acoustics, adult aural rehabilitation, speech perception, outcomes measurement, hearing science, physiological measures of audition 815-762-5984 smaldinoj@comcast.net
Joanna W. Tampas, Ph.D., CCC-A Clinical Assistant Professor Auditory electophysiology, Adult diagnostic audiology, Telehealth 865-545-4592 joanna.tampas@va.gov

Emeritus Faculty

Carl Asp, Ph.D. Emeritus Verbotonal and Speech Science   casp@utk.edu
Samuel B. Burchfield, Ph.D. Emeritus Amplification   samburch@utk.edu
Jerry Carney, Ph.D. Emeritus Professional Development, Structural Disorders   jcarney@utk.edu
Jack Ferrell, M.A. Emeritus Hearing Conservation and Sound Level Measurement   cjf01@comcast.net
Anna K. Nabelek, Ph.D. Emeritus Hearing Aid Outcome 865-974-1806 anabelek@utk.edu
Igor Nabelek, Ph.D. Emeritus Speech Perception   nabeleki@utk.edu
Ilsa Schwarz, Ph.D. Emeritus Child Language and Literacy 865-974-4802 ischwarz@utk.edu
Carol Sheridan, M.A., CCC-SLP Emeritus Pediatric language and phonology 865-974-4641 csherida@utk.edu
James W. Thelin, Ph.D. Emeritus Clinical procedures in audiology. Hearing/vestibular disorders, communication development in CHARGE syndrome.   jthelin@utk.edu