UT HEI Faculty Attend 2010 ARVO Meeting

The UT Hamilton Eye Institute (HEI) made an excellent showing at the 2010 annual meeting of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). Our 25 participating faculty members, residents, and research staff presented 24 posters and 5 papers at the event, as well as moderating sessions and hosting special interest groups.

ARVO travel grantsexternal link were awarded to HEI instructor Yevgeniy (Eugene) Shildkrot, MD, and HEI graduate students Tim Sullivan, Robert (Jason) Walker and Kim Williams. This award provides travel support to researchers showing potential for future significant research accomplishments, and whose research findings, selected to be presented at the ARVO meeting, are considered of high interest to the ophthalmology community.

During the ARVO meeting, a special posterLink to Acrobat file was displayed by the Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Center (TATRC), an office of the headquarters of the U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command. This poster revealed 9 proposals that were selected from among 120 submissions for funding research into treatment of visual dysfunction and eye injuries caused by trauma. One of those proposals selected was "Treatment of Traumatic Vision Loss in a New Mouse Model of Blast Injury," by UTHSC Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology Tonia S. Rex, PhD. This grant will provide over 3 quarters of a million dollars in funding for this project over the next three years. Dr. Rex also recently received the Glaucoma Research Foundation Shaffer Award, which provides a 1-year, $40,000 grant for her project, "Systemic delivery of a neuroprotective agent to protect against glaucomatous cell death in the DBA/2J mouse."

Our congratulations to Dr. Rex for her outstanding achievements and to all faculty who participated in the 2010 annual ARVO meeting.