Dinner Honors Graduating Residents and Instructors

Drs. Fowler, Jerkins, Kerr, McGowin and Bennett

Alumni/Residents' Day is not just about presenting interesting surgical cases and new ophthalmic research - it is also a celebration. At the end of the day of lectures, our faculty, residents, alumni and guests gathered for a dinner in honor of graduating residents, Drs. Daniel K. Bennett, Brian T. Fowler, Brian M. Jerkins and Alinda G. McGowin. At the ceremony, Natalie C. Kerr, MD, FACS, HEI Residency Program director, awarded diplomas to the graduating residents. "There is no way I can put into words what this group of graduating residents has meant to me," said Dr. Kerr. "It has been an extraordinary year in the life of this program, and they have all been members of my family."

Drs. Phillips and Haik

Next, graduating instructors Drs. Beth Phillips (oculoplastic surgery), John C. Randolph, (vitreoretinal surgery), Emily T. Graves (pediatric ophthalmology), Chainarong Luengchaichawang (glaucoma research) and M. Aladdin Rashwani (ocular oncology research) received special awards in recognition of their outstanding performance and service to the department. Finally, special awards were presented to two faculty mentors by the graduating residents, honoring Jorge I. Calzada, MD, with the Philip M. Lewis Award for outstanding contributions to resident instruction in clinical service, and Elliot M. Kanner, MD, with the Roger L. Hiatt, MD, Award for outstanding contributions to resident instruction in academic development.

Drs. Kerr, Graves and Hoehn

Drs. Randolph and Calzada

Drs. Jerkins, Fowler, McGowin, Kanner and Bennett

Drs. Bennett, Calzada, Jerkins, McGowin and Fowler

Drs. Luengchaichawang, Haik and Rashwani