Annual Convention of the Memphis Eye Society & Tenn. Academy of Ophthalmology

Drs. Wallace, Olivier, Lazarro and Sternberg Drs. Wallace, Olivier, Lazarro and Sternberg

February 16, the Hamilton Eye Institute hosted the annual meeting of the Memphis Eye Society and Tennessee Academy of Ophthalmology. At this event, ophthalmologists convened for updates across the scope of ophthalmic practice, addressing areas of needed improvement and updating knowledge within the specialty.

As director of the annual meeting, Sarwat Salim, MD, FACS, associate professor of Ophthalmology and director of HEI Glaucoma Service, was pleased to welcome our distinguished speakers for this year's event: Douglas R. Lazzaro, MD, professor and chair of Ophthalmology, and the Richard C. Troutman, MD, Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology & Ophthalmic Microsurgery, SUNY Downstate Medical Center, NY (Specialty: Cornea & External Disease); Mildred M.G. Olivier, MD, FACS, assistant dean for Diversity, associate professor of Ophthalmology, Chicago Medical School/Rosalind Franklin, University of Medicine and Science, Chicago, Ill. (Specialty: Glaucoma); Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD, G.W. Hale Professor & Chair of Ophthalmology, Vanderbilt Eye Institute, Nashville, Tenn., President, American Academy of Ophthalmology (Specialty: Retina); and R. Bruce Wallace III, MD, Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, Tulane & LSU Medical Schools, Alexandria, La. (Specialty: Cataract/IOL & Refractive Surgery).