The Hamilton Eye Institute Welcomes the 19th Annual George K. Kambara Distinguished Visiting Professor to the 38th Annual Ophthalmology Alumni-Residents' Day

On Thursday, June 25, the UT Hamilton Eye Institute hosted the 38th annual Ophthalmology Alumni-Residents' Day and the 19th annual Kambara Distinguished Visiting Professorship. Our guest of honor was Nicholas J. Volpe, MD, the Adele Niessen Chair in Ophthalmology at the Scheie Eye Institute at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Volpe engaged the audience with his lecture on the differential diagnosis of the swollen optic disc.

In the course of the day, second- and third-year residents presented the results from their research projects. First-year residents also presented challenging cases to Dr. Volpe which led to spirited discussions regarding diagnosis and treatments. At the conclusion of the program, Dr. Natalie C. Kerr presented Dr. Volpe with a plaque honoring his place as the 19th Kambara Distinguished Visiting Professor.

At a reception following the lecture program, three additional awards were presented. Dr. Kerr received the Roger L. Hiatt Award for teaching (full-time faculty), alumnus Dr. Kenneth Fung received the Philip M. Lewis Award for teaching (clinical faculty), and alumnus Dr. Gary Jerkins received the Distinguished Alumni Award for his overseas missionary service and dedication to excellence in ophthalmology. The graduating fellows and residents were also honored for their achievements.