Dr. Freeman to Receive TMA Outstanding Physician Award

Dr. Freeman photoOn Sunday, May 1, at 9 a.m., UTHSC Clinical professor of Ophthalmology Jerre M. Freeman, MD, founding director of Memphis Eye and Cataract Associates, will receive the 2016 Outstanding Physician Award from the Tennessee Medical Association at their annual meeting. This award recognizes a doctor in Tennessee who, throughout the course of his or her lifetime, has exemplified the highest caliber in our state of what it means to be a physician. 

Date: Sunday, May 1
Time: 9:00 am
Location: Embassy Suites, 1200 Conference Center Blvd., Murfreesboro, TN

About Dr. Freeman:  A lifelong Memphian, Dr. Freeman has been in private practice since 1968, specializing in cataract surgery, intraocular lens implant surgery, laser vision correction surgery and other surgical procedures. He holds more than 20 patents for lens implants and surgical instruments. Before receiving his Medical Degree from the University of Tennessee College of Medicine, Dr. Freeman received engineering training from Auburn University and served as a pilot with the U.S. Navy. He had two Fellowships, including the Heed Fellowship, at Harvard Medical School and trained in intraocular lens implantation in the Netherlands. He is certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology, and has served on the boards of numerous medical and eye organizations and journals. He is a past president of the Memphis Medical Society and the American Board of Eye Surgery. For almost 25 years, Dr. Freeman has also served as chairman of the World Cataract Foundation, a non-profit that has reached out to under-served nations worldwide, restoring vision to countless individuals and providing invaluable opportunities for an exchange of skills and knowledge with physicians in these areas. Dr. Freeman is internationally known as a speaker, author, inventor and surgeon. He has traveled extensively to teach surgical techniques in many countries including China, Mexico, India, Pakistan, Kenya, Egypt, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Holland, England and Russia.