HEI Welcomes New Residents and Instructors

July 1 marks the beginning of our new academic year, when we have the honor of welcoming a new class of first-year residents and instructors beginning their ophthalmic subspecialty fellowship training. 

New residents
New residents (clockwise from top left): Sarah Duhon, MD, from the University of Mississippi Medical Center; Devin West, MD, from
the St. Louis University School of Medicine; Cody Richardson, MD, from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of
Medicine; Elizabeth Rosenberger, MD, from East Tennessee State University; Rocío I. Díaz Sanjur, MD, from the University of Panama.
Dr Hood photo Dr Goecks photo Dr. Chelnis photo
New instructors: Michael Hood, MD, (left), who completed his residency at the Hamilton Eye Institute, begins his Retina fellowship
at HEI. Tara M. Goecks, MD, (middle), who completed her residency at the Storm Eye Institute at the Medical University of South
Carolina, begins the first year of her Oculoplastic Surgery fellowship at the Wesley Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery Center in Nashville. 
James Chelnis, MD, (right) transfers from Dr. Wesley's clinic to join us at HEI for the second year of his training in Oculoplastics.