27th Annual Dental Hygiene Update

About The Presenters

Marilyn D. Lee, PharmD., BCPS, is the Assistant Director of Pharmacy at The Regional Medical Center at Memphis where she also serves as the program director for the American Society of HealthSystem pharmacy residency program. She is an associate professor in the Clinical Pharmacy Department at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy. She is a graduate of the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy and completed her residency at the Memphis Veterans Administration Medical Center. She has enjoyed teaching the Dental Pharmacology Course for UT's Dental Hygiene students for over twenty years.

Dr. J. Stansill Covington III was previously Chair of the Department of Dental Hygiene and currently is Professor and Chair of the Department of Biologic and Diagnostic Sciences at the UT College of Dentistry. Dr. Covington is a Fellow of the American College of Dentists, the International College of Dentists and the Royal Society of Medicine in London. He received the 2010 College of Dentistry’s “Distinguished Faculty Award.” He is fun to be around.

Dr. Swati Rawal is currently a full-time faculty member and Director of the Advanced Education Program in Periodontics at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, College of Dentistry, Department of Periodontolgy. Her research interests include innovations in teaching methodologies for pre doctoral dental students and effects of various chemotherapeutic agents and drugs on gingival fibroblasts.

She is a diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology, Member of the American Academy of Periodontology and a Member of the American Dental Education Association. She was awarded the AAP Award for Outstanding Teaching and Mentoring in Periodontics by the American Academy of Periodontology in 2006 and 2010. She has over 19 years teaching experience in Periodontology.

  • July 30, 2010
  • 8:00am – 3:30pm
  • Location: Memphis
    Holiday Inn Select – Located at Poplar & I-240
  • Credit: total 6 contact hours
  • Course Presenters: Marilyn D. Lee, PharmD., BCPS
    Dr. J. Stansill Covington III
    Dr. Swati Rawal
  • Course Registration Form

Registration Information

Registration fees received by July 16 are $149. This fee includes all course materials, continental breakfast and a group luncheon. Registrations received after July 16 are $169. Registrations or payments received at the door will include a $25 late fee. The classes of 1990 and 2000 receive a discounted registration rate of $74.50 prior to July 16 and $84.50 after July 16. There will be a 10 & 20 year reunion for the classes of 1990 & 2000. Contact Elaine Stegman at (901) 448-3038 for additional information.

Refund policy: Refunds can not be made after July 26, 2010.

This course is approved for a total of 6 contact hours. A document stating the credit earned will be given at the conclusion of the course.

Schedule: Friday, July 30, 2010

  • 8:00-8:30 Registration and continental breakfast
  • 8:30-10:30: Dr. Marilyn Lee - “Update on Medications with Oral Implications”
  • 10:45-Noon: Dr. Stan Covington - “Things I Have Seen”
  • Noon-1:15: Buffet lunch and scholarship awards
  • 1:15-3:30: Dr. Swati Rawal – “Innovations in Non-Surgical Periodontal Therapy”
  • 3:30: Adjourn

Course Descriptions

Update on Medications with Oral Implications

This course will feature an update on medications with oral implications including osteonecrosis with bisphosphonates and commonly utilized medications causing gingival enlargement. Focus on an overview of the pharmacology and therapeutics of local anesthetics.

Things I Have Seen

"In 25 years, many unusual things have passed before me. This presentation will highlight many of these. Since it is my birthday, I can talk about whatever I want."
Dr. J. Stansill Covington III

Innovations in Non-Surgical Periodontal Therapy

Over the past few years, much advancement has been made in the non-surgical treatment of periodontitis and peri-implantitis. As our scientific knowledge base grows, more and more scientific principles are being applied to various periodontal treatment modalities with successful results.

This presentation will focus on various aspects of non-surgical periodontal therapy including full mouth disinfection versus conventional staged debridement, advances in power-driven instrumentation, antimicrobial therapy in periodontitis, and Lasers in non-surgical periodontal therapy.

Non-surgical treatment of peri-implant mucositis and peri-implantitis will also be discussed.

The University of Tennessee College of Dentistry is an ADA CERP Recognized Provider. ADA CERP is a service of the American Dental Association to assist dental professionals in identifying quality providers of continuing dental education. ADA CERP does not approve or endorse individual courses or instructors, nor does it imply acceptance of credit hours by boards of dentistry.

The University of Tennessee designates this activity for 6 contact hours continuing education credits.