Department of Anesthesiology Faculty



Abddullah N. Abdullah, M.D.
Instructor
Residency: Anesthesiology
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, Virginia
aabdull1@uthsc.edu

John J. Angel, M.D.
Professor
Director of Research
Residency: Anesthesiology Cook County Hospital Chicago, IL
Fellowships: Pulmonary Medicine & Physiology Cook County Hospital Chicago, IL
jangel@uthsc.edu

Bruce Babula, MD
Assistant Professor
Residency: Anesthesiology
Case Western Reserve
Cleveland, OH
Fellowship: Anesthesiology
Case Western Reserve
Cleveland, OH
bbabula@uthsc.edu

Jeff Blalack, MD
Assistant Professor
Director of Education, Chief-Med Anesthesia

Residency: Anesthesiology
UT Health Science Center
Memphis, TN
jblalack@uthsc.edu

DeRayne Boykins, MD
Instructor
Residency: Anesthesiology
Brigham & Women's Hospital
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA
dboykins@uthsc.edu

Howard R. Bromley, MD
Associate Professor
Program Director
Residency: Anesthesiology
University of Miami/Jackson Memorial Hospital
Miami, FL
Fellowship: Critical Care
University of Miami/Jackson Memorial Hospital
Miami, FL
hbromley@uthsc.edu

Olivia O. Cabigao, MD
Assistant Professor
Residency: Anesthesiology
Far East University Hospital and Cook County Hospital

Matthew J. Fabian, MD
Assistant Professor
Residency: Surgery
Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio
Residency: Anesthesiology
Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio
Fellowship: Anesthesiology Research
Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio
Fellowship: Anesthesia/Pain Management
Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio
mfabian@uthsc.edu

Maria R. Fuertes, MD
Instructor
Residency: Anesthesiology
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland, Ohio
mfuertes@uthsc.edu

Ravpreet S. Gill, MD
Assistant Professor
Residency: Anesthesiology
Mount Sinai School of Medicine Brooklyn, New York
Fellowship: Obstetric Anesthesia Mount Sinai School of Medicine Brooklyn, New York
rgill@uthsc.edu

Jay E. Mattingly, MD
Associate Professor

Chief-Clinical Affairs
Residency: Anesthesiology
The University of California
San Francisco, CA
jmattingly@uthsc.edu

Jaya Ramanathan, MBBS
Professor
Director of OB Anesthesiology
Residency: Anesthesiology
Temple University Philadelphia, PA
Fellowship:OB Anesthesia
Temple University
Philadelphia, PA
jramanathan@uthsc.edu

Christopher D. Sharp, M.D., M.S.
Instructor
Residency: Anesthesiology
University of Washington
Seattle, Washington
csharp14@uthsc.edu

Aruna Vaddadi, MBBS
Assistant Professor
Residency: Anesthesiology
State University of New York
Buffalo, NY
Pediatrics Medical College of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
Fellowship: Obstetrical Anesthesia
Buffalo, NY
Buffalo Children's Hospital
Buffalo, NY
Pediatric Anesthesiology
Buffalo Children's Hospital
Buffalo, NY
avaddadi@uthsc.edu

Andrew T. Vu, MD
Associate Professor
Residency: Anesthesiology
UT Health Science Center
Memphis, TN
avu@uthsc.edu

Tacee E. Walker, DO
Assistant Professor
Residency: Anesthesiology
The Cleveland Clinic Cleveland, Ohio Twalke31@uthsc.edu

Felice Vabnick Wener, MD
Assistant Professor
Residency: Anesthesiology
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Fellowship: Pediatric Anesthesia
Children's Hospital of Pittsburg

John Zanella, Jr., MD, Ph.D.
Professor
Chairman
Residency: Anesthesiology
Case Western Reserve
Cleveland, OH
Fellowship: Anesthesiology Case Western Reserve
Cleveland, OH
jzanella@uthsc.edu