CAHS Home » Organization of the College

Organization of the College

The College of Allied Health Sciences is led by the Dean of the College and four assistant deans. It is organized into seven (7) departments which are the administrative bases for educational programs in ten allied health disciplines: the Department of Audiology and Speech Pathology, the Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences, with programs in medical technology/medical laboratory sciences and cytopathology practice (Cytotechnology and Histotechnology); the Department of Dental Hygiene; the Department of Health Informatics and Information Management; the Department of Physical Therapy; the Department of Physician Assistant Studies; and the Department of Occupational Therapy. Each department is led by a chair.

The College of Allied Health Sciences was founded as the College of Community and Allied Health Professions in 1972 to provide an administrative base for allied health programs from a variety of departments and institutions. Initial departments included Clinical Laboratory Sciences (which included programs in medical technology, cytotechnology, histotechnology and blood banking) then within the College of Medicine's Department of Pathology; dental hygiene, then in the College of Dentistry; medical record administration (now health informatics and information management) then a part of Baptist Memorial Hospital; physical therapy, then within the College of Medicine's Department of Medicine; and radiologic technology, then within the College of Medicine's Department of Radiology. Start-up funding for the College came from a Veterans Administration Grant. The Departments of Occupational Therapy and Audiology and Speech Pathology from the University of Tennessee Knoxville were later added. The blood banking program was discontinued, and the Department of Radiologic Technology and the histotechnology program were transferred to Southwest Tennessee Community College. The physician assistant studies program was added in 2012.

Organization of Faculty

All appointed faculty in the College of Allied Health Sciences are members of the Allied Health Faculty Organization (AHFO). Officers, including a president, a president-elect, and a recording secretary are elected by the members. The Organization meets once every three months or more often as business may dictate. It serves as an advisory group to the dean and provides faculty input on curriculum, other items of interest to the faculty and the dean as well as providing educational seminars of interest to allied health faculty.

The faculty of the College of Allied Health Sciences possesses the advanced experiential and academic credentials required in a major health sciences center. In addition to being accomplished teachers and scholars, faculty in the College of Allied Health Sciences have a tradition of distinguished professional leadership at the regional and national levels. Scientists and clinical faculty from the Colleges of Medicine, Dentistry, Graduate Health Sciences, Nursing and Pharmacy enrich the instructional environment for allied health students. Volunteer faculty and preceptors from a wide variety of health care institutions, contribute a real life perspective through their mentorship of students enrolled in the clinical educational experiences offered by the College. Faculty members consistently update their knowledge by engaging in scholarly activity and clinical service in areas related to the courses they teach.

Location and Facilities

The College's administrative offices as well as those of most of the departments are located on the sixth floor of the 930 Madison Building on the Memphis campus of the UT Health Science Center. The Department of Health Informatics and Information Management offices and the Occupational Therapy student classroom and laboratory are located in the 920 Madison Building. Most student classes and laboratories are held in the UTHSC General Education Building. The Department of Occupational Therapy has a student pediatrics laboratory in the Boling Center for Developmental Disabilities located on the Memphis campus. The Department of Physician Assistant Studies student classroom and laboratory are located in the 66 N. Pauline Building. The Department of Audiology and Speech Pathology is located on the campus of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

CAHS Mission Statement

The mission of the College of Allied Health Sciences shall be consistent with the mission of the University of Tennessee that is; to provide the people of Tennessee with access to quality higher education, economic development and enhanced quality-of-life opportunities. The UTHSC mission is to bring the benefits of the health sciences to the achievement and maintenance of human health, with a focus on the citizens of Tennessee and the region, by pursuing an integrated program of education, research, clinical care, and public services. The College will educate competent health professionals, provide leadership in the respective allied health professions, contribute to the knowledge bases of the respective allied health disciplines and promote life-long learning through continuing education.

Online Map

College of Allied Health Sciences

930 Madison Avenue
6th Floor
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: 901-448-5581