Yearly Upward Evaluations - 04/01/2013 to 04/30/2013


The UTHSC Faculty Handbook states that, "The Faculty Senate Executive Committee is responsible for the establishment and implementation of a process to provide for faculty evaluation of the performance of the Chancellor, Vice chancellors, Deans, Chairs, and Associate Deans." In response to that requirement, this process for upward evaluation is being provided to you by the Faculty Senate.


You will be asked to sign into the system using your UT NetID and password. This process is necessary to ensure that no faculty member evaluates an administrator more than once and so that the appropriate evaluation forms are made available to each faculty member, forms containing only the names of administrators they are qualified to evaluate. This approach eliminates the need for each faculty member to scan through pages of administrators in search of the ones with whom they interact. All entries on all forms will be confidential. No connection will ever be made from the NetID to any identifying information about the faculty member. The Faculty Senate Executive Committee recognizes that a candid, successful survey requires absolute anonymity. Therefore, every precaution possible has been taken to insure that this is an anonymous survey. The summary results will be accessible for only a limited time after the survey is closed and will only be shared with the person evaluated and his/her immediate supervisors (e.g. the chair's evaluation will be shared with the chair and the appropriate dean). When this time expires, all files will be electronically shredded.


In order for the upward evaluation to provide the most useful information, it is important to have full participation from the faculty at all levels. Also, please take a moment to include your comments providing explanation or examples. The comments are often very useful in fully understanding the rating provided. It is not a lengthy process. If you do not feel that you have adequate knowledge to evaluate an individual, you may indicate that in the evaluation rather than completing the evaluation for that person.

Contact Us

Faculty Senate President
Terrance G. Cooper, Ph.D.
Harriet S. Van Vleet Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
Dept. of Microbiology, Immunology & Biochemistry
858 Madison Ave.
Memphis, TN 3863
Phone: Office (901) 448-6179
Phone: Lab    (901) 448-2882


Faculty Senate President Office
62 South Dunlap Rm 212
Memphis, TN  38163
Phone: 901-448-8323